Any1234567891011121314
Any123456 or More
All Accessible Corporate Families Large Groups Pet Friendly Romance Walk to Pub Weddings
See all

Testimonials for Cazenovia Hall

We have stayed in a number of Rowley Estate cottages over the years and Cazenovia being one of our favourites. In the present circumstances every effort has been made to make the Property Covid secure. Great location with easy access to the Lake District particularly the stunning Lake Ullswater which only 15 minutes away and Lowther Castle which would highly recommend for a family day out! Also some excellent dog walks in the surrounding area. The accommodation was hugely spacious with all bedrooms ensuite and we could not fault this place! The attention to detail was second to none, with extras such as the welcome hamper and dog treats, dog drying towels were an added bonus waiting upon our arrival. Our dogs had plenty of room in the safe surrounding garden. So much care and attention is clearly put in by the owners and the answer to any requirements we had beforehand and during our stay was always yes!! Would definitely recommend The Rowley Estates which have done. We are already planning our next visit to The Lakes.

Antony C20/10/2020Tripadvisor

An absolutely stunning location with a setting one could only dream of. Particularly with Covid 19 in mind, Cazenovia Hall was immaculately clean with extra cleaning supplies also left for our use during our stay. I absolutely could not fault this place! The attention to detail was second to none, with extras such as the welcome harper and dog treats waiting upon our arrival. So much care and attention is clearly put in by the owners and the answer to any requirements we had beforehand was always yes!! Would definitely recommend.

516lollipop22/10/2020Tripadvisor

We went for a wonderful few days with my parents who are now in their late 70s, our two young children (ages 3 and 5) and some friends. This is not the first time we have stayed in a Rowley Estates property, we had an amazing stay in one of the cottages last year and thought we'd book into a bigger place this time around. Could not recommend Cazenovia Hall more, we had a fantastic time with beautiful weather and no issues whatsoever. We felt completely safe - given my parents age and our children we had conerns about COVID but the place was spotless and the hosts have gone out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The children had a brilliant time playing and exploring, the place is well kitted out for them and we felt at ease letting them roam the house and garden - looking forward to coming back! Hosts were super responsive and all the little details were such a treat

Dreamer0288525348127/10/2020Tripadvisor

We have stayed at several properties in the Lakes over the last few years. This one, like all the Rowley Estates locations we have visited, is superb. Decorated, laid out and presented to an exceptional standard, it is the perfect rural getaway treat. It is clearly an old property, perfectly situated, and modernised impeccably. The owners and their team have paid every attention to detail possible, and adapted rapidly and willingly to our questions and extra requests. They certainly go the extra mile, and couldn’t be more helpful in the challenging Covid conditions. With the spacious open plan ground floor we were able to remain as distant or as integrated as we each felt necessary. BBQ lunches, cosy log fires in the evening, and plentiful logs and restaurant standard charcoal are even provided, so you settle in immediately. Oh, and our dogs give it a 5* too, and loved the location and local countryside. An ideal place to escape for a treat, reunion or countryside retreat. Perhaps I’ll retreat there to be inspired to write that novel that I’m sure is waiting to happen!

Andrew M15/10/2020Tripadvisor

Cazenovia is a real gem hidden away within striking distance of the Lakes. The property is ideal to relax with your family and pet dog with excellent facilities and amenities. Everything has been thought of to make it a home from home, with added luxury. Thank you Rowley Estates, we shall be back again, and again!

Johnsg15121/10/2020Tripadvisor

This was such a pretty cottage and we loved the views, hamper and the local village! Thanks also to the owners who were friendly and helped us with all of our questions before we booked! Both the puppies and the kids really enjoyed the garden and all of the walks (before they got tired!)- I felt really comfortable letting them play in the garden and it was great to have our own private outdoors space. I was surprised by how safe I felt even during covid- the house was extremely clean and it felt private and secure. I'm coming back soon and have recommended to all my friends for family breaks (in our separate bubbles of course!)

Flora B01/10/2020Tripadvisor

This is out 2nd stay at Cazenovia Hall and our 5th holiday with the Rowley Estates. The setting is so special, one way looks to the horizon over rural Cumbria and the other at the most beautiful historical castle. Cazenovia Hall has a stunning open plan living area but a gorgeous cosy snug called the Gin room, apparently its not because you have to drink gin in it but why not..... The decor is carefully considered and the kitchen is incredibly well equipped. One of the most important thing to me in a renting is the cleanliness and this place, as were the other Rowley properties I've stayed in, was spotlessly clean and fresh. The sheets and towels are luxurious and the little extras make it a special place to holiday. There is plenty to do and lots of interesting places to visit, this time we went to the Aira force waterfall, pick you own raspberries and for long walks on the fells, its well worth having a look at the Wainwright's walk as there are several really close by. We did discover the new Shepards huts just over the road by the river and will defiantly be back soon to try them out

Sandy619701/10/2020Tripadvisor

Cazenovia Hall was perfect for treating our parents. The place is beautifully decorated and very clean.The kitchen is very well stocked with everything you need with good quality kitchenware. The bedrooms are very comfortable. Also the best welcome hamper we have ever received in a cottage with bread, eggs , cheese ,wine and local jam, toffee and tea. The location is rural and we enjoyed walks directly from the cottage. Christine was very helpful with ideas about places to visit . Ullswater is close and we drove to Martindale and climbed up to the summit of Hallin Fell which afforded an amazing view of Ullswater. We would love to return to this cottage.

659TinaD65913/09/2020Tripadvisor

We loved staying at Cazenovia Hall and thoroughly enjoyed our escape from the City for a much needed holiday with our teens. They loved the activities in the area (Go Ape & Aira Falls were the favourites). We loved staying in such a comfortable house that is finished to such a high standard. The place was spotless and we felt that the owners had done an amazing job making sure we felt safe in their property. We didn't want to leave and wished we had stayed longer! We hope to be back soon!

MaryJ3507/09/2020Tripadvisor

We’d love to provide some feedback and will also leave an online review to express our gratitude for another lovely stay!
We’ve stayed at numerous Rowley Estates properties now, and each one has it’s own distinctive identity, but maintains the same level of comfort, luxury and extra touches we have come to expect (pool table and gorgeous welcome hamper to name a few!) The outdoor space was beautifully maintained and very private and bedrooms were all hugely comfortable - we particularly loved the down bedding and have since invested in our own!
This was the first accommodation we had stayed in after the Covid 19 situation this year. We knew that by booking with Rowley we’d be in safe hands and weren’t mistaken! Everything felt perfectly clean on arrival, and details of the enhanced cleaning measures, and careful precautions and procedures in place were communicated to us before our stay for peace of mind.
There was honestly nothing we could possibly have wanted for, so thank you and all of your staff for such a lovely stay. It was much needed by all of us and we had an absolute blast!
We look forward to returning to the lakes and a Rowley Estates soon!

Sarah03/09/2020email

“Very nice place and lots of thoughtful touches!”

Nuno12/08/2020email

I just wanted to contact you and let you know we had a wonderful week staying in Cazenovia Hall. The house was perfect and so so comfortable. We all just loved it . My husband and I were there with our three daughters and two of their partners. Two of our daughters now live in London so it was fantastic for us all to have a week together in such lovely surroundings. An added treat was the snooker which provided much fun of an evening!
It was such a beautiful area with so much to do . The only down thing was how quickly the week passed!
Thank you so much for your very generous welcome pack .
Many thanks for all your hard work - you have thought of everything for the house to make it a very high standard .
With very best wishes to you and yours.

Laura15/10/2019Email

Having recently returned from cazenovia hall i cant wait to go back. From the moment we arrived everything was just perfect. Great welcome pack waiting for us with lots of local jam,eggs cheese etc. the bedrooms are all finished to a high standard and are all a good size. Beautiful gardens to sit in which we used every day, There are plenty of local and further afield walks to do in the surrounding area. Cazenovia hall provide you with maps of walks which was very helpful. Greystokes village is just a short stroll along the road with a friendly local pub. We visited it several times. food was very good but advisable to book. Thank you once again to Christine and her team for a fabulous week.

Relax5452047098811/09/2019Tripadvisor

I stayed at the cottage with my bridesmaids for the nights leading up to my wedding (located down the road in Greystoke) and it was absolutely perfect! Beautiful cottage with all the amenities you could want, very clean and super comfortable! The main kitchen/ dining area was a highlight and great for us all to eat together. A few of the guests liked it so much they delayed their departure so they could spend the last night there! Christine was very helpful and great at communicating. I'd highly recommend for a break with families or friends.

KR14/07/2019Tripadvisor

Dear Christine
I just wanted to say that I would give a five star review (6 if it were possible ) for everything about our stay in your beautiful accommodation .  From the initial enquiry to the reluctant end of our stay and to the kind and generous after care.  The Hall was immaculately presented the welcome basket was generously and thoughtfully prepared.  The very slight change to our requirements in the arrangement of our bedroom requests was dealt with within minutes of reporting  it with kindness and humour.
Although the weather was not on its best behaviour nothing could detract from the comfort and beauty of the hall and the well kept garden or the fact that it is situated in a most wonderful area with plenty to do and see no matter the weather.  The thoughtful email sent to me detailing the many indoor and outdoor attractions near by helped us to enjoy every minute of our stay .  Learning the intricacies of the huge Aga made preparing meals a learning event for the whole family and the conversion of the dinning room table into a snooker table made for great fun and competitiveness in the evening tournaments.
The kind and considerate after care came with the speedy finding and forwarding of a gift my young grandson had bought and which had been forgotten and thereby averting  (in his opinion)a major tragedy Once again many thanks for all you kindness and care and consideration.  It is now my greatest wish that we will be able to return sometime and enjoy all the benefits of your lovely accommodation.

JM & Family 30/05/2019Direct message

This is a lovely house, lovingly refurbished, wonderfully maintained, well stocked and a lovely real wood fire. In easy reach of Ullswater, I would recommend it for anyone wanting a lovely base in the Lake District.

Ameet27/06/2019Tripadvisor

This is the best equipped holiday accommodation we have ever rented. There is a very generous welcome hamper and many, many other extra provisions. The accommodation is lovely - large rooms, plenty of space, comfy chairs and a delightful garden, with a private area for sitting out. The Hall gave us the most perfect place for all our family to meet up and we highly recommend this holiday retreat.

Cruiser18/03/2019Tripadvisor

Our return visit to Cazenovia Hall did not disappoint. Wonderful welcome hamper with so many lovely treats! House had everything we needed and more. Christine is a delight to communicate with and nothing is too much trouble. We will return again I am sure!

Lolly21/02/2019Tripadvisor

Great location with easy access to the Lake District particularly the stunning Lake Ullswater only 15 minutes away and Lowther Castle which would highly recommend for a family day out! The accommodation was hugely spacious with all bedrooms ensuite and the kids had plenty of space to run around and play hide and seek! It was an ideal place for a large family or 2 families to stay and explore the North lakes. Will look to stay again in the future and would highly recommend.

jturley10/01/2018Tripadvisor

What a stay! Having stayed in many self catering places over the years, UK and abroad, Cazenovia comes up top. The communication before hand, advice, help and details given was excellent. The house itself was gorgeous, with lovely styling and furniture. Our welcome hamper was a lovely gesture and the place was a perfect setting for my mother's 60th birthday with the family. I am now looking for a bigger event to have so we can use Blencowe Hall. What a treat, thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Sarah18/12/2018Tripadvisor

Absolutely superb! 3rd time of staying. Immaculate and well equipped. Quiet and peaceful with a great pub 20 minute walk away. 4 en-suite rooms. Will be back! Thanks

Ian S05/12/2018Tripadvisor

Fabulous accommodation, every need catered for ..even for dogs. Well equipped kitchen and beautiful complimentary hamper with local produce on arrival. Stunning views would highly recommend.

Roderick G12/11/2018Tripadvisor

A great place to stay, perfect location to see the Lake District. Beautiful property with everything you could want and more. Very cosy and clean, suited all our needs. The hamper is a great welcoming touch. Bedrooms all have en suites and are of a good size. Large lounge with feature wood burning fire, very cosy particularly in the evening. Snooker table kept the men happy! Great idea. Thank you, we will be back to stay again.

Richard G12/11/2018Tripadvisor

This place is absolutely gorgeous. I would thoroughly recommend it. The surprise hamper added to our Christmas celebrations as 2 families came together before their son and daughter went to Sydney for 2 years. The aga takes some getting used to but added to the experience as did having a snooker table.

Kerry09/09/2018Airbnb

Beautiful cottage. LOVED the hamper. We had a fantastic holiday and the pool table went down a treat. Thank you

Liz, Brian, Alex, Nick, Emily & Susan01/09/2017Visitor's Book

An molestiae posidonium philosophia sed, te eum gloriatur persecuti, ne nobis postulant has. Vix eius utinam cu. Has et dictas tritani elaboraret, in meis tritani sapientem duo, mea dolor munere quidam cu.

Molly Smith01/02/2016