Any1234567891011121314
Any123456 or More
All Accessible Corporate Families Large Groups Pet Friendly Romance Walk to Pub Weddings
See all

Testimonials for Elk Cottage

We had a wonderful week at Elk Cottage during mid-August. Each week since then I have reflected on what a good time we had in what was a comfortable, extremely well appointed and secure environment and it is time to commit that to a review to assist others in their decision making.

 

The property is exactly as advertised on the various websites, is easily accessible and whilst sharing grounds is sufficiently private and was safe/secure for our young grand daughter and our dog. Management staff were on hand to deal quickly with any queries and issues and to advise on local activities and beauty spots; excellent. It was a true home from home in that all our needs were anticipated: we wanted for nothing - though we couldn't find the egg-cups!

 

So, thanks to our hosts and we look forward to our return.

14/09/2020Email

An absolutely incredible stay at Elk Cottage! I really can't recommend this place enough. From the moment I inquired to the moment we left, the service from Christine has been of the highest level. To find somewhere so beautiful that not only allows dogs but goes out of their way to make them feel as welcome as us humans did really is something special. We are already looking at dates to book again!!

Fiona B11/02/2020Tripadvisor

Wow ! The Rowley estates were recommended by my friend, resulting in us booking Elk cottage to celebrate new year and we absolutely did ! Amazing cottage, luxurious bedrooms, dining room, wood burner , absolutely everything you need for a fabulous weekend. All logs provided for fire ( not had that before) charcoal for the bbq provided too and we did use it on New Year’s Eve. The hamper was amazing too. I have no faults at all ! But just a note for other dog owners. We took our dog an 18 month old boxer,. There is a small enclosed area leading from the utility room! Fantastic for small dogs but our dog would have easily leaped between the gate and wall. There wasn’t an enclosed area for us to let him him run. I absolutely loved getting him on his lead and walking him at night the clear skies and stars are amazing !! As I say not a negative just something to be aware of. I would absolutely visit again and can5 thank rowley esates enough

Kel05201420/01/2020Tripadvisor

This is our second stay at Elk Cottage and we loved it. It is a beautiful, comfortable and very welcoming cottage. It is also spotlessly clean and was tastefully decorated for Christmas. The kitchen is very well equipped and the welcome hamper is by far the best we have come across - there was even something for the dogs. We loved the log burner and there were plenty of logs. There were lots of books to read on offer too. We slept really well as the bed was so comfortable. The location is great - there is good walking in beautiful, quiet countryside from the door. Christine at The Rowley Estates was really helpful and responsive to questions emailed and it was lovely to meet her in person when the dogs went to say hello. The cottage is a definite recommend from us.

Sarah HTripadvisor

This was my third stay with Rowley Estates and having previously stayed at the larger properties, and wanting for a special location to welcome in the New Decade, it was a given we would use one of their properties. The organisation surrounding your stay is faultless and if your emphasis is on comfort and luxury, then you won’t be disappointed. We always self cater every meal and the extensively supplied kitchen is a dream to cater in, with every possible gadget and kitchen utensil making cooking a dream. Beautifully quiet location and the wood burning stove provides a fantastic ‘welcome home’ after walking in the beautiful landscape. We plan to return.

doloreshooper0118/01/2020Tripadvisor

We booked Elk Cottage for.my 50th birthday after choosing Cumbria over New York, and I am so glad we did. What an amazing cottage, beautifully furnished and everything to a very high standard. The welcome hamper was a joy to behold when we arrived, along with the fire all made up and ready to light. I cannot recommend Elk cottage highly enough. We will definitely be back!!

SD145810/12/2019Tripadvisor

I would be happy to leave a review.  We had an amazing time in Cumbria, aided by staying in your beautiful cottage with amazing facilities.  The hamper was an absolute joy when we arrived.
Thank you again, and I will leave a review in the next couple of days.

Sharon07/11/2019Email

This was our third time staying at the beautiful cottage. Very comfortable in an idyllic location for walks and easy access to the great lakes. The cottage has everything you need for any length of stay. Our hosts are fabulous and the welcome hamper is always a lovely surprise.

123Jem6512/10/2019

This was the second Rowley property we have stayed at and we were not disappointed. We found Elk Cottage to be very comfortable, warm and quiet and in a good location for visiting other areas as well as enjoying the nearby countryside. The cottage is well equipped with good parking.

PAA3315/10/2019Tripadvisor

We have just had the most wonderful six days in Elk Cottage. You cannot fault this holiday let in any way. Self catering usually means carting the staples like washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs., loo paper, bread, milk, butter, eggs etc., not with Elk Cottage though. On arrival, there on the kitchen table was a wonderful and very generous welcome hamper. It had lovely things in it including wine, tea bags, fudge, lovely home made jam, bread etc, and on opening the fridge we found eggs, butter and cheese!! There was a wonderful bowl of fruit on the table and flowers in vases around the house, what a lovely welcome after a long drive. Tallulah, our Curly Coat Retriever had a lovely time too, she had a visit from the 2 Flat Coat Retriever boys next door! We all had a very relaxing time, visiting several friends in the area and apart from one day, we had lovely weather. Thank you Christine, Charlie and Jilly

Explorer03/10/2019Tripadvisor

Beautiful cottage set in immaculate grounds. Idyllic and peaceful. Views were tremendous over the hills and vales. The cottage very comfortable and well appointed. And with luxury linens and towels. Beds were super comfy. Kitchen had everything one might need. The hamper was perfect to start the holiday - perfect for the extra feeling that the owners care about their guests. My husband went fly fishing with one of the names given to us by Christine - what could be better. Easy and full communication from the day we wrote our first email. Thank you

RBandRS201703/10/2019Tripadvisor

Our first walking holiday in this beautiful part of the world. The views have been breathtaking. We have made the most of all the wonderful and varied walks in the area and also further afield and eaten very well in the local pubs. Elk Cottage is all we had hoped for, a homely base for us to return to each day and relax. Every possible requirement has been thought of. As we return to London, I will miss being woken each morning by such a varied and beautiful sounding dawn chorus (then going back to sleep!!)

McKnights27/05/2019Visitor Book

Thank you for a lovely relaxing holiday. Comfortable cottage with super hamper and everything you need for a luxurious break. Excellent friendly staff and immaculate gardens. We will be back and hope to try out one of your other properties. Thanks.

Copnall17/05/2019Visitor Book

Lovely relaxing stay in this toasty cottage during a wintery weekend. We loved the food and beer at The Crown, Kirkoswald. - Tricia and Steve, March 2019

Tricia and Steve12/03/2019Visitor Book

Another wonderful stay at this superb cottage. We can’t wait to book our next visit. The Hamper pack excellent as always and much appreciated. Thank you once again for providing exceptional accommodation and such friendly and personal service.

Liz and Rachel04/03/2019Visitor Book

Perfect location for restful or active holifay. Inspiring views of the Pennines and Lake District as well as gentle local country walks, yet not too far from local pubs and facilities. (Lovely bakery in Melmerby and brilliant for browsing bric a brac shop) On arrival the first impressions said it all. An amazing welcome hamper and basics in the fridge and then beautiful Egyptian cotton sheets. A high quality barn conversion, the cottage is deceptively spacious and was ideal for us (two couples) with two en suite, and several sitting areas. We were lucky and had sunny weather and had most of our meals on the delightfufl terrace. So hot that we asked for a sun umbrella which the friendly and super efficient Gai(Housekeeper) quickly provided.. Only little downside i can think of - my tall brother did bump his head on low door frames and I couldnt find a butter dish but we are alreay planning a return vsit in autumn

Wander3374489839923/05/2019Tripadvisor

Thank you for letting your beautiful cottage to us! It was perfect! The children have had a wonderful Lake District adventure and Elk Cottage was a fantastic base. We will definitely visit the Rowley Estates again!

Shadwells22/02/2019Visitor Book

We’ve very much enjoyed our first visit to the Eden Valley and The Lakes. And its been lovely to have had Elk Cottage as our base. We’ve really appreciated all the information provided, pre-booking and at the cottage. Thank you too for the prompt action on the pillows! We’ve walked for miles and eaten well. Enjoyed the quiz at The Crown last night, although the round on ‘recognise the village where the pub is’ was a bit of a tester for us southerners as they were all local! Thank you. – Jane, Duncan, Steph and John. – November 2018

Jane, Duncan, Steph and John30/11/2018Visitor Book

Our second stay at Elk Cottage and it was just as lovely as we remember! A real treat. Luxury, but homely. We’ve been lucky with the weather apart from Wednesday (on second thoughts the Ullswater Steamer in the rain was misguided and a bit ££ off season due to limited timetable) but cosy evenings by the log burner have been fantastic. We have recommended Elk Cottage to all of our friends as so lovely. Thank you. – The Lewis family – November 2018

Lewis family30/11/2018Visitor Book

This marks our hat-trick of stays at Elk Cottage. Brilliant as ever! – Fetherston Arms – Pie night, The Shepherds Inn, Melmerby – lovely atmosphere, Crown Inn – excellent fish and chips, Dog and Gun, Skelton – very good food. Thank you to all.

Jonathan and Catherine31/10/2018Visitor Book

This is a splendid treasure. We were so fortunate to have found you … You have provided one of the most comfortable and complete homes away. Thank you.

Pat and John31/08/2018Visitor Book

A really lovely well-equipped cottage! We’ve had a fabulous holiday despite the rain, while the rest of the country basks in 30 degrees C. The welcome hamper was full of delicious goodies. We only wish we were here longer to do more walking. Your recommendations for places to eat and local walks were excellent! Thank you for such a comfortable cottage.

The Stanforths31/08/2018Visitor Book

What can we say, it ticked all our boxes – superb! This is by far the best holiday rental we have stayed in to-date. The cottage is so well equipped, extremely comfortable and the welcome hamper is such a wonderful touch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we thank you all very much x

Philip and Lorraine31/07/2018Visitor Book

Our three days at Elk Cottage considered heat wave temperatures exceptional for Cumbria! Planned walks abandoned for good books, tennis, the World Cup and relaxing in the garden. We would like to thank Jilly and her team for such a spotlessly clean cottage. Everything to make our stay so comfortable. Love the bed linen.

Sue and Christine30/06/2018Visitor Book

Just a quick thank you for a lovely stay in amazing Elk Cottage, helped by superb weather and wonderful tranquillity. Had excellent meals at the Crown in Kirkoswald, the Shepherds Inn at Langwathby and the Horse and Farrier at Dacre. Dalemain House worth a visit, close to Aira Force. Thanks for the excellent hamper which was much appreciated.

Steve and Jacket31/05/2018Visitor Book

Thank you for a very comfortable and tranquil stay at Elk Cottage, where we have had a wonderful few days catching up with dear friends. The weather has been good, but still a bit chilly – beautiful this morning as we prepare to leave! We have so enjoyed this unfamiliar part of ‘The Lakes’ and observing nature at its most new and fresh – loved the lambs and the wild flowers as we explored the area. Thank you too for the full and very much appreciated welcome hamper

Linda and Ken 31/05/2018Visitor Book

We were very lucky with the weather for the first few days, even managing to eat breakfast outside. A very comfortable and cosy stay. We wanted for nothing, everything catered for. Beautiful local walks and stunning scenery as you venture further afield. Great location. Thoroughly enjoyed the tranquillity here. Having sheep with their new born lambs was an added bonus as our neighbours. Thank you for restoring the wi-fi so promptly. The welcome pack was greatly appreciated. Would certainly be recommending this property.

Peter and Zoe 31/03/2018Visitor Book

Once again, another wonderful stay for us at Elk Cottage. The unseasonable snow even enhanced our visit – have never enjoyed being snowed in more! As always, fantastic facilities and excellent communication with Jilly and Christine. Roll on visit number 5!

Liz and Rachel31/03/2018Visitor Book

We had a mixed bag of weather, but nothing like as wet as we prepared for – what a home from home this cottage was – a great ‘jumping off’ point for local walks and for further afield – we did 2 of the walks set out in the ‘Walks, Hikes and Drives’ file in one and can recommend them. We found it very easy to get to The Lakes for walks too. So far have done Crummock Water, Buttermere, Ullswater and plan to do a circuit od Derwent Water tomorrow with the promise of the best weather so far. Well stocked kitchen and a nice hamper of little luxuries…

Sonya and Alan28/02/2018Visitor Book

Thank you for a perfect stay. The cottage is beautiful, very comfortable, with everything you could possibly wish for. It is the perfect ‘bolt hole’ to get away from it all! The walk to Lacy’s Caves was fab! Hope to be back soon!

Diane and Louis31/01/2018Visitor Book

Booked this with Glassonby old hall and Jenny's cottage for a big family 60th birthday celebration and couldn't have wished for a better place. Accomodation in all three was stunning and there was something for everyone: walks for the walkers, drives for the drivers and a fantastic place to rest for the rest! The complimentary hampers were an amazing treat too - almost more than could be consumed in a weekend, 'doggy-bags' needed. The place was everything we were hoping for and more - will definitely be back! Thanks

Tony Dowling31/10/2017Tripadvisor

My elderly parents and I spent the most relaxing week at Elk Cottage. Our whole experience, from initial booking direct to the end of our holiday was fantastic - everyone involved was so friendly and helpful. We wanted for nothing during our stay, the cottage was so well equipped (even down to a full herb and spice rack). We've never seen a welcome hamper like it before, we felt very spoilt. The cottage was comfort throughout with beds we didn't want to get out of and it was spotlessly clean. A perfect place to relax and unwind - thank you to all concerned.

Jillswithaj31/10/2018Tripadvisor

This is one of the loveliest accommodations I have ever had the privilege to stay. Every need of the visitor is anticipated and every amenity provided. From the welcome hamper on arrival to the stunning views, it is the quintessential English home. I wish our stay had been longer. It is centrally located for walks and fishing and opportunities to visit from Long Meg to the Lake District. We so very much appreciate all done for us.

Pat54988, Tennessee31/08/2018Tripadvisor

Our visit to Elk Cottage was idyllic; the cottage itself deserved its 5 Star rating as everything was perfect and the attention to detail was superb! The location was ideal for a quiet retreat and the information on the recommended walks etc was extremely helpful.

DianneIrving31/01/2018Tripadvisor

Elk Cottage is in the most peaceful of rural locations. So well placed for country walks. Exceptionally clean, fully and well equipped. The welcome hamper is wonderful, a thoughtful mix of practical and luxury treats! Communication is friendly and could not be more helpful. We are already planning our next visit - simply cannot keep away from this idyllic country retreat. Highly recommended.

Elizabeth H22/03/2018Tripadvisor

What a lovely stay we had in this beautiful cottage in stunning surroundings! The welcome pack was gratefully received and there is nothing you could do to improve our time here. We were recommended a couple of local eateries; the beer was good! We hope to return – thank you.

Sally and Nick31/01/2019Visitor Book

This is our second Christmas break with The Rowley Estates. We stayed in Jenny's Croft last Christmas and at Elk Cottage this year. These two cottages are side by side in the quaint little village of Glassonby in the Lake District. If you like peace, relaxation and a level of luxury then this is the place for you. The cottage is kept to a very high standard. It is very clean and well furnished. It is so well equipped from a sewing kit to freeview and wifi. There was a Christmas wreath on the door, Christmas tree in the hall and a fantastic luxury hamper waiting in the spacious kitchen. There was bread, butter, milk, cereals, fruit juice and their own locally made jam. Oh the Jam! It was delicious but the single jar did not last long. Be warned! The Dining room comfortably accommodates 4 adults for Christmas dinner. The lounge is also well equipped and very comfortable. The wood burning fire is amazing with an ample supply of chopped logs available. The two bedrooms are ensuite. One with a bath and the other with a shower cubicle. The beds are very comfortable and give a great nights sleep. The cottage is dog friendly and has bowls, poo bags etc provided if needed. There are a few nice walks that can be taken with information available in the cottage. It is about 8 miles to Penrith where there are several large supermarkets as well as a nice Town centre. The Rowley Estates offer luxury accommodation that takes some beating! There is always someone on hand either a phone call or email away. I have only spoken with Jilly and Christine who will go out of their way to make your visit special.

DaveJ220531/12/2018Tripadvisor

'We had a lovely relaxing stay at Elk Cottage. A really cosy and lovely place. Every little thing has been thought of and provided. We will be back!'

Richard and Sophie T.31/10/2018Visitor Book

'Great weekend, lovely cottage- would come again, especially as this one was too short.'

Steve and Rachel 31/10/2018Visitor Book

‘We discovered Elk Cottage when our American friends, Pat and John stayed here in August. We liked it when we visited them then and came back to celebrate Susan’s birthday. Despite some very wet and stormy weather on Fri/Sat, we were warm and snug (and dry!) here with everything we needed. Sunday was dry and Monday glorious after a frosty and misty start. Sunday lunch at the Highland Drove was lovely and Monday’s birthday lunch at the Sharrow Bay was very special. Many thanks to Christine for making us so welcome and thinking of everything! We hope to be back…'

David, Elaine and Susan31/10/2018Visitor Book

We stayed at Elk Cottage for three nights - not long enough though! Everything was thought of here. We made our reservation directly with Rowley Estates - Christine was extremely helpful. She responded to emails promptly and the booking procedure was simple. Once we had booked, we were sent a couple of emails telling us that there were 'where to walk'/ tried and tested 'pubs/restaurants'/drives etc. We took our dog with us and there was a list of places to eat that were 'dog friendly'. When we arrived there was a lovely hamper waiting for us with lots of goodies in it - plenty for a snack that evening and breakfast the following morning. My only wish was that we could have stayed longer. But, we know we will definitely be returning.

LaBouriette31/10/2018Tripadvisor

‘This is a splendid treasure. We were so fortunate to have found you…I found myself at home. You have provided one of the most comfortable and complete homes away. Thank you.’
Pat and John 11/08/2018

Pat and John11/08/2018Guest book

‘What a fantastic and cosy cottage, it has everything a young family requires and a great launching spot into the Lakes. Thank you to all the Rowley Estates team, we will be back.'

Marsland-Roberts15/08/2018Guest book

‘Great weekend, lovely cottage – would come again especially as this one was too short.’

Steve Knight and Rachel Crouch30/09/2018Guest book

This is one of the loveliest accommodations I have ever had the privilege to stay. Every need of the visitor is anticipated and every amenity provided. From the welcome hamper on arrival to the stunning views, it is the quintessential English home. I wish our stay had been longer. It is centrally located for walks and fishing and opportunities to visit from Long Meg to the Lake District. We so very much appreciate all done for us.

Pat5498831/08/2018Tripadvisor

Super welcome basket.lovely comfy bed. The perfect place to recover from jet lag.

22/06/2016Rural Retreats

We loved very homely Elk Cottage, it was a delight to come back to at the end of a day exploring the area. The cottage is particularly well equipped, the beds were really comfortable and we all slept really well. Our dog loved the gardens which were a delight with an abundance of flowers. There were lots of birds around and it would have been nice to see a few bird feeders in the gardens. It is the first time we have stayed in a cottage in such a small hamlet and for us the only reason I have given it 4 and not 5 stars is because it was just a bit too quiet and we missed having a village pub. If you really want to get away from it all and have total peace and quiet, away from street lights etc., then this is the place to be and we could not fault the cottage for comfort. The food hamper we received is by far the best ever received, we loved everything in it.

06/07/2017Rural Retreats

Great, well equipped cottage. Nice and peaceful. A few nice local walks and an easy hop into the Lakes for everything else.

14/02/2018Rural Retreats

Beautiful cottage, very well equipped, very comfortable, grest location

23/06/2017Rural Retreats

Our visit to Elk Cottage was idyllic; the cottage itself deserved its 5 Star rating as everything was perfect and the attention to detail was superb! The location was ideal for a quiet retreat and the information on the recommended walks etc was extremely helpful.

DianneIrving, Beckermet, UK31/01/2018Tripadvisor

Elk Cottage is in the most peaceful of rural locations. So well placed for country walks. Exceptionally clean, fully and well equipped. The welcome hamper is wonderful, a thoughtful mix of practical and luxury treats! Communication is friendly and could not be more helpful. We are already planning our next visit - simply cannot keep away from this idyllic country retreat. Highly recommended.

Elizabeth H, Southport, UK22/03/2018Tripadvisor

We have stayed either at Elk cottage or the neighbouring cottage, Jenny’s Croft, 4 times now. Once again, this most recent stay did not disappoint. Elk cottage is so comfortable and homely. It is so easy to relax there from the moment you arrive. It is very well equipped and the welcome basket is always so helpful. Never been anywhere else that tops the range of supplies you get, including a bottle of wine! The outdoor space (although in parts not fully enclosed) is great for our dogs. They love it. Perfect location for the Pennines and Ullswater region of the Lakes. Always lovely to come back from a long walk, make up the fire, and relax!

schnauzer2707, Worksop, UK15/03/2018Tripadvisor