Any1234567891011121314
Any123456 or More
All Accessible Corporate Families Large Groups Pet Friendly Romance Walk to Pub Weddings
See all

Testimonials for Glassonby Old Hall

We had a really lovely time at Glassonby Hall. We thought the property was great-really well equipped and had everything we needed. Thanks also for your help with the washing machine and to Jilly for the lights-really prompt and efficient service to fix things which we recognise will inevitably break from time to time (and which would take me forever to get fixed at home!). We all feel really rested and would love to come back again in the future. It was great being able to have Alfie, our dog with us who also really enjoyed his stay.

Caroline31/07/2020email

Superb holiday rental. Whole property with great character, in a lovely setting with great views. Fantastic welcome hamper. Well stocked kitchen -tea/coffee/sugar/spices/salt/pepper/oil all provided. Incredibly well equipped house overall. Great kitchen, very comfortable sitting room- lovely wood burning fires as well. Welcome find of a snooker table- very popular with everyone. Fuse blew one day- cutting some downstairs lights- but all sorted within hours. Overall one of the best holiday rentals that we have had. Would thoroughly recommend.

MagicDaddyPig10/12/2019Tripadvisor

I stayed at Glassonby Hall previously with friends and thought it would be a great place to celebrate my mums 60th birthday weekend. It didn’t disappoint! Christine was fabulous and instantly at the end of an email to answer any of my questions. There was ample parking and the welcome hamper superb, which even had a birthday card in for my mum. We hired a hot tub through Cumbria Hot tub hire which was fabulous and lovely added bonus to the weekend. We hired a caterer from Eden catering solutions which was wonderful, would highly recommend using Sam. The house itself was amazing, plenty of room for 6 adults, 2 children and a baby (cot and high chair provided). The garden is enclosed which was great for our small dog who slept in the nice warm utility. We also ate at the Fetherston Arms in Kirkoswald, just a 5 minute drive and had an excellent meal. Aria Force waterfall was a worthwhile trip out not far away, saw 2 rainbows over the water which was just stunning. This house has lots of character and 2 huge fireplaces with plenty of logs available, would definitely recommend.

AP03/10/2019Tripadvisor

What an amazing place. We just loved it. Very cosy and beautiful, thank you.

Langleys04/04/2019Visitor Book

We enjoyed a wonderful wedding celebration in this beautiful place. Everything we could wish for. Thank you.

Halsteads13/05/2019Visitor Book

We had a fantastic time at the Old Hall. So much so that we tentatively said we should book it out each year because we loved the place so much. We loved the little touches and also the area. It was so peaceful yet beautiful. We will definitely be back. 

A02/04/2019Message

A lovely, lovely house. Wonderful time had by all. First class accommodation.

Jean and David31/01/2019Visitor Book

Brilliant venue for a family get-together.

Humphreys31/01/2019Visitor Book

Seven lovely ladies on our annual get together, this year celebrating a special birthday. Wonderful house which was so comfortable for our get together. Lots of evenings around a roaring fire. Fantastic times, fantastic friends.

Flannery and friends - November 201830/11/2018Visitor Book

What a fantastic place! We had perfect weather for autumn walks and cooked feasts. A great way to celebrate a significant birthday .

Rosie and Friends30/11/2018Visitor Book

A fantastic holiday in a great location. The very well-equipped and roomy house catered perfectly for all our big families. Great walk recommendations: walks along the Eden River became firm favourites. We also drove out to Ullswater and Hartside Top. We can recommend two pubs: The Crown Inn in Kirkoswald and The Shepherds Inn in Melmerby. Thank you for a brilliant and memorable week.

31/07/2018Visitor Book

A fantastically appointed property and very well equipped. We’ve all had a lovely time and it’s definitely somewhere we’d visit again. Surrounding scenery and the Eden Valley are fabulous! Thanks!

The Kemps and Myla31/07/2018Visitor Book

Second Visit to The Rowley Estates. Loved it. House and standard fabulous. Beautiful location. Thank you xx

LS and Hodgsons30/06/2018Visitor Book

Fabulous stay in this lovely house – great party Saturday night. Huge bed – loved the spooky well bathroom. Loved everything. Even the weather was amazing. Will return x

Sheffield gang 30/11/2017Visitor Book

Fabulous house, even better than we expected. Quality of fitting, finish, furniture is superb – thank you!

Kenworthys and Smalls31/10/2017Visitor Book

Absolutely perfect venue, catering for walkers, drivers, sitters and gazers! Everyone had a fantastic time and we couldn’t have found a better place, thanks!

Dowling Family 31/10/2017Visitor Book

We had an absolutely fantastic time this weekend. The house is amazing. We loved spending time here and we are already planning our next stay here.

The O’Riordans 31/07/2017Visitor Book

Fantastic accommodation and welcome pack. Scenery outstanding and tranquil apart from a few noisy sheep! Would love to spend Christmas here – bliss!!

Stevens31/05/2017Visitor Book

Glassonby Hall was booked for my birthday and Christmas. The Hall was everything and more we could have wished for. Great attention to detail and a welcome hamper to die for! The Hall was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The immense great hall was a perfect location for Christmas Dinner and the birthday party. The surprise billiard table was a bonus! What stands out for The Rowley Estate property was the fact that we wanted for nothing. The kitchen was exceptionally well stocked well with quality cutlery and dinnerware. Pots and pans were more than able to cope with catering for 12. Bed linen was Egyptian cotton and toiletries were Molten Brown. The supply of logs and kindling was endless. Hot water ran constantly and we had WiFi!!! It felt more like staying in a luxury hotel than a self catering house! We would definitely book again for a special occasion - The large hall for a wedding would be fantastic 😊

Michelle L01/01/2019Tripadvisor

It was our second time at Glassonby for a family get together. The layout is super for giving everyone space, the large kitchen table is brilliantly sociable, and the kids loved the pool table. The welcome pack is an added bonus with lots of lovely treats. Lots to do in the area, we ate at the Shepherds Inn in Melmerby which was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Getaway08/11/2018Tripadvisor

We love your wonderful house. Brilliant design to accommodate all ages/ interests! Thank you for making us so welcome – we feel very fortunate to have found Glassonby Old Hall. Hope to return…..
Storey family, October 2018

Storey family31/10/2018Visitor Book

Wonderful time in your great house! Thank you for the welcome pack. We all felt so at home. Would certainly recommend. Visited Penrith, Keswick, Grasmere, Bowness and lots of walks, laughter and fun.

C Atherton and family31/10/2018Visitor Book

Thanks for a lovely stay in a fantastic building. Everything was superb. Did two of your suggested walks and pubs!

Duncan and Sally31/10/2018Tripadvisor

The perfect weekend retreat.

Kate and Mark31/10/2018Visitor Book

Thank you, superb first class accommodation, beautiful countryside, lots to see. We enjoyed the nice hamper – very generous.

Strachan and Starkey families30/09/2018Visitor Book

We had a fantastic stay at Glassonby Old Hall. The property was really well equipped. Lots of wood for both fires, and everything you could need in the kitchen. I was really impressed with all the information provided - lots of options for dining out and walking in the area. There's a couple of great walks right from the property (would recommend the one to Lacy's Caves and Long Meg and Her Daughters). It's only 30 minutes drive to Ullswater for the Ullswater Steamers. And from Glenridding we did the walk up Helvellyn and striding edge - highly recommend this if you're feeling adventurous. There was a lovely cafe near the information centre (Fellbites I think). We went out for dinner a couple of evenings - the Shepherd's Inn in Melmerby and the Fetherston Arms in Kirkoswald (amazing pies!). Both were only 5 minutes drive and really good. Would definitely recommend getting the hottub - the views from outside the property are great.

Michael Maddern30/09/2018Tripadvisor

‘This is our return visit to Rowley Estates, beautiful property and great facilities. We all had a wonderful few days, thank you.’

The Levitts and Gallaghers25/08/2018Guest book

‘Fantastic weekend, the Hall is amazing, well equipped, fantastic for family celebrations. We will be back!’

The Evans, Paynes and Fetherstones21/08/2018Guest book

‘We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Glassonby Old Hall. The house was well equipped with any object you needed and the guest books were fantastic to plan meals out and walks. The hamper was a lovely surprise! Thank you so much , will think about coming again!'

The Williams family and Bella (the dog)18/08/2018Guest book

‘Typical Rowley Estates property – beautifully appointed and wanting for nothing’

The Townsends04/08/2018Guest book

‘A fantastically appointed property and very well equipped. We’ve all had a lovely time and it’s definitely somewhere we’d visit again. Surrounding scenery and the Eden Valley are fabulous. Thanks!

The Kemp family and Myla28/07/2018Guest book

The property has many things to keep you occupied and also great advice on local pubs, restaurants, walks, activities

DJL197431/08/2018Tripadvisor

This is a real find! The property itself is ultra luxurious with enough space for our family to relax in.

8 of us stayed in the hall, 4 in Elk Cottage next door but we spent all but bedtimes together and there was enough room for everyone.

The website is very full with videos of every room but in reality it is much more impressive. The whole place is very tastefully decorated and incredibly well equipped, even down to the barbeque tools.

We loved the peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside. A real contrast to the one day we ventured into the Lakes. The children enjoyed the park nearby and the teatime visit from the cows across the road.

The Featherston Arms was popular with everyone, super food and a beer garden for the kids to play in. We went there often!

We also went to the bakery at Melmerby, a good choice of breads nice gift shop and coffee shop.

We had a morning in Penrith, busy but a nice change.

We did a few walks round the area, all well documented on the website.

We had a great holiday!

jenNewcastle09/08/2017Tripadvisor

I am blessed to live just 200 metres from Glassonby Old Hall, so am familiar with the stunning views and peaceful location.

I've had the pleasure of staying here quite a few times now, for various occasions, and each time I'm left feeling so impressed by the attention to detail not only in the building itself but the special personal touches.

Regardless of the time of year, this building provides a fabulous bubble to stay in when you're gathered with friends. The only real problem is if you can ever draw yourself away from sitting by the Aga. So easy for days to disappear just having a constant picnic around the wonderful farmhouse table!

Our guests never fail to be impressed by the magic and magnificence of Glassonby Old Hall. Indeed, on my most recent visit, I stepped inside and was overwhelmed by the feeling that this place only has positive memories for me. I look forward to having many, many more long weekends here. Thank you.

Veronika R13/09/2017Tripadvisor

Perfect venue for a 60th birthday family gathering. Walks for the walkers, drives for the drivers and rest for the rest!

TonyDowling12/10/2017Tripadvisor

Wow, where to start, the place was fantastic from the moment we pulled into the driveway. The hall is pristine condition, with fantastic amenities. All the lounge/dining areas were brilliant, it was warm, cosy and everything I wanted. They even include little hampers which really come in handy and the home made Jam and bread was especially nice. I celebrating my birthday there, and in addition you can arrange for external caters to come and cook for you which was a real treat. I pre-arranged this with Lynn Hilditch catering. The food was fantastic and made the night extra special not having to cook. We also booked a hot tub with Cumbria hot tum hire. Rookin house nearby was great fun too as we did go karting. I will most certainly look to book another get away with the Rowley estates group again. TOP CLASS. It made my birthday one to remember thats for sure!!

Rachael S26/10/2017Tripadvisor

My Daughter booked this accommodation for her 30th Birthday for a group of both Family and friends. It was simply perfect. The Catering Company Lynn Hilditch Catering did a fantastic 3 course dinner on the Saturday night for 14. guests. I could not fault it. l would recommend this property to anyone. The old and new married up in a beautiful barn conversion with all modern bathrooms and a fabulous kitchen. Loved our stay and made some wonderful memories.

Hazel B11/10/2017Tripadvisor

From opening the front door we were blown away by this beautiful house, so warm and welcoming, The standard and attention to detail that has gone into this house is exceptional, the bed linen, towels, very well equipped kitchen, everything about this house is amazing, every room we went in was fabulous, every person in our party (8 of us) were over the moon that we had found this GEM. We cannot wait until we visit again.

juliedougan5015/11/2017Tripadvisor

We stayed here for Christmas week and honestly had a perfect family time. The Hall is spacious but cosy with big log fires, comfy beds and seats and every possible kitchen/eating thing you can think of. Christine and Jilly couldn't have been more helpful before we arrived and also whilst we were there.
There are so many ideas of what to do nearby but also lots of games provided when the weather's bad- including the amazing snooker table!
We also hired a hot tub which was great after a long walk but also lovely to sit in when it was snowing.
Go and stay there!

Julie W20/12/2017Tripadvisor

I can't praise our stay at Glassonby Hall highly enough - the house itself is majestic. Spacious, warm and beautifully renovated, in keeping with its Grade II heritage status (this roaring open fires, an Aga, Egyptian cotton bed linen, cloud-like duvets - this place is fit for a queen)! The welcome note card and hamper - which is generously stocked with local foodie goodies and wine - makes a lovely gesture and there's a fully-stocked kitchen utensils-wise, so we actually did lots of cooking at home. Christine and Jilly were so helpful in the weeks running up to our visit with suggestions of where to go and what to do in the area (which, by the way, felt like we were on the set of All Creatures Great and Small with lush rolling countryside and lambs and calves playing in the fields outside).

We made the most of Icon Beauty who came to the house to treat myself and mum to a massage and manicure - they were also first class and a lovely way to pamper mum on her 70th birthday. Only minor disappointment was that I didn't book one of the local caterers early enough to come and cater for mum's birthday dinner - so be organised as they're obviously in-demand! We did however, have a spiffing meal at the George and Dragon - with a pick up and drop off service from Sean, the local taxi driver (so we could all have a drink).

There are lots of lovely little villages within walking distance, plus a Druid stone circle! We drive to Loather Castle as well which is a great day trip - especially for kids as it has a first-class adventure playground which is so much fun, even us adults couldn't resist having a shot on the zipwire!

I'm already hatching a plan of when I can go back to Glassonby!

Emma R11/04/2018Tripadvisor

We had a lovely week at Glassonby Old Hall. The house is spacious and comfortable, the kitchen well stocked and we had fun cooking on the Aga. There is also an electric cooker if you prefer to use this. We found the house to be plenty warm enough but the addition of log fires (logs included) means that even in winter it would be warm and cosy. There was a welcome hamper waiting for us on arrival which included some tasty Lake District treats. Other basic essentials were also provided. We also made good use of the snooker table. The combination of the comfort of the house and the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful Lake District meant we left after a week much more relaxed than when we arrived.

Caz166210/04/2018Tripadvisor

What an outstanding property in such a wonderful setting. Each & every room is beautifully appointed to a very high standard. Upon walking through the door it is clear that this is no ordinary property. Luxury, grandeur & quirkiness await - a sunken well in the ground floor bathroom was certainly a surprise! Some lovely touches included a handwritten note from the owners, the Molton Brown products & a very generous welcome hamper comprising a selection of quality items, some of which were local produce. The communication with both Christine & Jilly was friendly, prompt & informative, they could not have been more helpful. Our only disappointment was departing this amazing property & wishing we had booked for longer. Would love to return.

Louise C09/05/2018Tripadvisor

There were 8 of us staying at this property and although it wasn't the first time in the Lakes it was the first time in this area. we found the house and its specification exactly how it was described to us. We did however have a few problems with hot water for the showers and the general problem that everyone seems to experience at this time of the year and that is the flies, but once the various deterrents were in place this problem rapidly diminished. We all very much liked the house and the area and we will definitely come back again

A Trip Advisor Member26/07/2018Trip Advisor

House superbly presented and equipped

Rural Retreats

Great house, good location, warm and clean. Fantastic welcome hamper

Rural Retreats

Fabulous property in a beautiful location.Well equipped and enjoyed by all 6 of us particularly as we visited during the heavy snow. Cosy open fires and goodies in the hamper made the birthday celebration extra special. Would love to return and definitely recommend!

18/04/2018Rural Retreats

We stayed here for Christmas week and honestly had a perfect family time. The Hall is spacious but cosy with big log fires, comfy beds and seats and every possible kitchen/eating thing you can think of. Christine and Jilly couldn't have been more helpful before we arrived and also whilst we were there. There are so many ideas of what to do nearby but also lots of games provided when the weather's bad- including the amazing snooker table! We also hired a hot tub which was great after a long walk but also lovely to sit in when it was snowing. Go and stay there!

Julie W, Beverley, UK04/01/2018Tripadvisor

Our party stayed at both Jenny's Croft & Glassonby Hall during our recent trip to the lake district. I cannot speak highly enough of both properties which are both amazing. Jenny's Croft was beautifully appointed and in its own grounds with plentiful parking. The decor is perfect offering comfort & style and is fully equipped with everything you need - home from home. The welcome basket was most generous & provided lots of quality local produce which was a lovely touch & very much appreciated. The communication with the owner's was second to none which made the whole experience so easy, pleasant and reassuring, they had thought of everything. This lovely cottage with stunning views provides a perfect base for a lovely 'get away from it all' break. I can only hope to return one day soon.

23/05/2018Tripadvisor

I can't praise our stay at Glassonby Hall highly enough - the house itself is majestic. Spacious, warm and beautifully renovated, in keeping with its Grade II heritage status (this roaring open fires, an Aga, Egyptian cotton bed linen, cloud-like duvets - this place is fit for a queen)! The welcome note card and hamper - which is generously stocked with local foodie goodies and wine - makes a lovely gesture and there's a fully-stocked kitchen utensils-wise, so we actually did lots of cooking at home. Christine and Jilly were so helpful in the weeks running up to our visit with suggestions of where to go and what to do in the area (which, by the way, felt like we were on the set of All Creatures Great and Small with lush rolling countryside and lambs and calves playing in the fields outside). We made the most of Icon Beauty who came to the house to treat myself and mum to a massage and manicure - they were also first class and a lovely way to pamper mum on her 70th birthday. Only minor disappointment was that I didn't book one of the local caterers early enough to come and cater for mum's birthday dinner - so be organised as they're obviously in-demand! We did however, have a spiffing meal at the George and Dragon - with a pick up and drop off service from Sean, the local taxi driver (so we could all have a drink). There are lots of lovely little villages within walking distance, plus a Druid stone circle! We drive to Loather Castle as well which is a great day trip - especially for kids as it has a first-class adventure playground which is so much fun, even us adults couldn't resist having a shot on the zipwire! I'm already hatching a plan of when I can go back to Glassonby!

Emma form London21/04/2018Tripadvisor

We had a lovely week at Glassonby Old Hall. The house is spacious and comfortable, the kitchen well stocked and we had fun cooking on the Aga. There is also an electric cooker if you prefer to use this. We found the house to be plenty warm enough but the addition of log fires (logs included) means that even in winter it would be warm and cosy. There was a welcome hamper waiting for us on arrival which included some tasty Lake District treats. Other basic essentials were also provided. We also made good use of the snooker table. The combination of the comfort of the house and the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful Lake District meant we left after a week much more relaxed than when we arrived.

Cazz from Munich, Germany22/04/2018Tripadvisor

Louise C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Amazing 5* property

Left on May 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
What an outstanding property in such a wonderful setting. Each & every room is beautifully appointed to a very high standard. Upon walking through the door it is clear that this is no ordinary property. Luxury, grandeur & quirkiness await - a sunken well in the ground floor bathroom was certainly a surprise! Some lovely touches included a handwritten note from the owners, the Molton Brown products & a very generous welcome hamper comprising a selection of quality items, some of which were local produce. The communication with both Christine & Jilly was friendly, prompt & informative, they could not have been more helpful. Our only disappointment was departing this amazing property & wishing we had booked for longer. Would love to return.

Louise from Manchester18/05/2018Tripadvisor