Any1234567891011121314
Any123456 or More
All Accessible Corporate Families Large Groups Pet Friendly Romance Walk to Pub Weddings
See all

Testimonials for Jenny’s Croft

One of the best equipped and appointed cottages we've stayed in - everything you could possibly want is provided, it's good quality and spotlessly clean. It's a great base for exploring the northern lakes and also the eastern side of Cumbria. Stunning scenery all around you and lovely walks right from the door. Christine has provided very detailed information about the area, places to go, things to see and do, and suggestions for when the weather isn't so good! There really isn't anything we could find fault with. Absolutely perfect!

neilwS2945MSTripadvisor

We have just had the most wonderful 5 nights staying in Jenny's Croft which really is the most perfect base to explore the Lake District. The cottage is very well appointed, is warm, cosy & welcomes dogs. The welcome pack was amazing & full of lovely treats as well as the essentials. We did some fabulous walks around Ullswater, had lots of delicious coffee from the Village Bakery in Melmerby & stocked up on supplies from Cranstons in Penrith. We couldn't recommend it more highly & Christine & her team were a pleasure to deal with.

Sightsee4405157460924/01/2020Tripadvisor

Just returned from a long weekend at Jenny’s Croft. 1st class everything. Excellent communication with the owners (thank you Christine). Superb location and great walks right from the front door. Jenny’s is immaculately presented and quality through out. Excellent welcome pack too! Won’t be long before we’re back at one of the Rowley Estates properties.

TurboKev10/12/2019Tripadvisor

We spent a week at Jenny’s Croft and it was delightful. We chose it because we wanted somewhere rural and would also provide a good base to get around and also to meet up with family. We were not disappointed as The Croft was of a very high standard and the setting was beautiful. Thank you for a beautiful hamper, the fruit bowl was great and everything in it was delicious. We also enjoyed the champagne courtesy of an early booking! We found everything to be as described and everything was catered for so no reason to be disappointed! Although there are other cottages adjoining you still have provided sufficient privacy to allow everyone to sit out - which all 3 cottages did on one of the evenings as we enjoyed the last of the days sunshine! Thank you Christine for your advice and prompt responses it was very helpful and very much appreciated, you have done a great job!

Diana s03/10/2019Tripadvisor

Absolutely stunning cottage – every need is catered for – owner was incredibly helpful offering ideas of where to visit. Don’t want to leave, peaceful, calm, magnificent views and scenery. Essex will seem so flat now. Recommend Aira Force, Coniston, Farm at Carlisle, lunch in Grasmere. A perfect mix of activities for grown-ups and little people!

Edwards12/04/2019Visitor Book

Perfect cottage in beautiful setting. Plenty of rest, relaxation and good walks. Acorn Bank is a must as is Lanercost Priory. Also had great morning on South Tynedale Railway and visited Carlisle Cathedral. Will go home with many happy memories and lots of photo’s! Thank you!

Fitzpatricks04/05/2019Visitor Book

Jenny’s Croft is a fabulous cottage! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and everywhere is spotlessly clean. The whole cottage is exceptionally well equipped, everything you could need is provided. The welcome hamper is a delightful extra - full of delicious treats! Thank you to Christine and her team for having us. We will definitely be back!

Journey23/04/2019Tripadvisor

Wow , the cottage was just perfect in every way. Spotlessly clean, cosy and everything you could possibly think to need was provided. It also included a welcome basket with goodies in. The beds were so comfortable we had the best nights sleep. Thank you to Christine and her team for having us , we will be back soon x

Joanne F07/03/2019Tripadvisor

This is my fifth visit to Glassonby, previously stayed in Elk Cottage. We needed peace and seclusion which we certainly found in this wonderful Croft. Husband also insists on a further return, in fact already booked into Elk (daughter included!) for 1st March. Looking forward to it already. Everything perfect, as always. Thank you.

Liz and John 31/01/2019Visitor Book

Thank you for a lovely stay in a beautiful rural retreat.

Abdul and Nichola 30/11/2018Visitor Book

Fabulous cottage, lovely weather, a perfect weekend and the raspberry jam was delicious. Thank you.

Margaret , Bill, Marilyn and Bryan30/11/2018Visitor Book

Having usually stayed at Riverain, this was a nice change of scenery. As ever, beautifully presented and we all had a great few days, including Bailey the Lab. See you at Xmas!!

Buchanans31/07/2018Visitor Book

Really super cottage in a lovely area. Attention to detail goes a long way! Thank you, will return.

Jean and Eric31/07/2018Visitor Book

Thanks, had a lovely break. Nice walks from the door. Weather good. Lovely cottage to relax in. Thanks for amazing hamper etc.

Jane, Graham and Oz31/10/2017Visitor Book

We booked this cottage at random and what a fantastic surprise as we came through the door – 5 star perfection, both inside and out!! We tried out several pubs and walks as recommended. The muddy climb up the hill at The Shepherds Inn at Melmerby through 3 fords is a great way to work up an appetite for Sunday lunch. One other recommendation – The Bridge Bistro just outside Appleby is classy and open all day. A hugely memorable weeks holiday. Thank you so much!

Elaine and Phil31/10/2017Visitor Book

The owner has provided everything we needed and things we wouldn’t have thought of. Love the views of the surroundings. Lots of local walks. We will return.

Bates and Nicholson31/07/2017Visitor Book

A wonderful cottage with amazing inclusions and a delightful hamper. The area added super memories for our journey around the UK .

Freemans - Sydney, Audtralia30/06/2017Visitor Book

Our second stay here an it was like coming home! Again, the cottage was cosy, perfectly equipped and waiting for us to enjoy it! And we did! Thank you for organising the birthday flowers! My compliments to your florist! The hamper was delicious! The hot tub was a delight! Going home tomorrow! It feels like the time has flown by! Til next time!

Sonia and Trevor30/06/2017Visitor Book

Came for complete rest: perfect. Everything beautifully presented and perfectly catered for. Thank you, going home refreshed.

Susan30/04/2017Visitor Book

Came for our Anniversary and Paul’s Birthday. We don’t want to go home! Love this house. Thank you so much. We will be back soon x Home from home x

Paul, Jaci, Molly and the Pugs 31/03/2017Visitor Book

We love holidays in the Lake District and Eden Valley. Rowley Estates offer a very high standard of accommodation in great rural locations. We've stayed in several of their properties in recent years and need look no further for what we want. Very well maintained, high spec with attentive owners. Also great is flexibility over booking dates rather than the standard seven or fourteen day holiday.

alisono12367630/04/2018Tripadvisor

We had another great weekend, staying at Jenny's Croft. We stayed in Jenny's Croft a few years ago, but the interior fit out did not look like it had aged, everything was still in pristine condition and well looked after. The external areas around the property have really matured and it really is a peaceful setting. I would recommend to anyone to visit. Thanks to the Rowley Estates.

Tom H30/06/2018Tripadvisor

Our party stayed at both Jenny's Croft & Glassonby Hall during our recent trip to the lake district. I cannot speak highly enough of both properties which are both amazing. Jenny's Croft was beautifully appointed and in its own grounds with plentiful parking. The decor is perfect offering comfort & style and is fully equipped with everything you need - home from home. The welcome basket was most generous & provided lots of quality local produce which was a lovely touch & very much appreciated. The communication with the owner's was second to none which made the whole experience so easy, pleasant and reassuring, they had thought of everything. This lovely cottage wuth stunning views provides a perfect base for a lovely 'get away from it all' break. I can only hope to return one day soon.

LouiseTripadvisor

This was our third stay at Jennys Croft, having also previously stayed at the neighbouring Elk Cottage twice as well. It is a fabulous cottage. The log fire situated in the large open plan living area keeps the cottage so cosy and the large kitchen/utility area is well stocked, including the best welcome basket ever (including wine, biscuits, fudge, fruit, cereal, milk, orange juice, bread, eggs and cheese, and even treats for the dogs!). It is in a great location close to Penrith and Ullswater is the closest of the lakes. We love walking round Ullswater and the surrounding mountains. The nearby Lowther estate has great walks as well and there’s also the walks around nearby Aira Force. A little further afield and you are also near Keswick (a lovely town) with great walks nearby (see photos) and the lovely Derwent water. After a long day out walking it is so lovely to return to such comfortable and luxurious surroundings at Jennys Croft (or Elk) and we will be returning again, as usual.

Schnauzer14/11/2018Tripadvisor

The cottage was everything we expected and more. The heating was on and the fire laid for our arrival, the welcome basket was exceptional, home made raspberry jam delicious. The cottage is equipped to a very high standard. We will be back.

Margaret30/11/2018Tripadvisor

Very cosy cottage to return to after busy day exploring the Penines, Lakes, Hadrian’s Wall and local sites. Two pubs in Kirkoswald were good. Long Meg walk a lovely start to our week. Highly recommended place to stay, lovely welcome hamper and a treat to have the fire laid too. Thank you. We’ll return soon!!

Judith, Rob, Louise and Ruby the border31/10/2018Visitor Book

Fantastic cottage and lovely location. Very comfortable and well equipped. Christine is a delight and there was nothing that was too much trouble. We had lovely weather too!! Very much appreciated and we’ll be back!

Kate and Phil31/10/2018Visitor Book

We stayed in Jenny’s Croft for four days with our two daughters (14 and 12 years) and puppy. From the moment I contacted Christine it was a five star service. She gave me personalised itineraries and ideas about what to do even before we booked. The cottage was just perfect and we loved every minute. The treats left were so gorgeous and Christine even thought of the puppy- who had the most amazing first holiday. We were so impressed with every aspect: the cottage was immaculate with fabulous facilities down to every last touch. Even the fire was ready to light! It was so cosy but also plenty of space to settle in. There was a washing machine and dryer and even somewhere to hose down the puppy! The setting was superb and we enjoyed a short walk around Glassonby. The maps and instructions were so detailed too. We ventured out to Aira Force and the Ullswater steam boat which was fabulous and so dog friendly. We didn’t feel the need to go out for meals as the kitchen was so well equipped and Tesco had no problem finding us! We can not fault the holiday- so thank you to Christine and all the team.

07/11/2018Tripadvisor

Thank you so much for such a wonderful few days. The cottage was just perfect and we loved every minute. The treats you left were so gorgeous and you even thought of the puppy- who had the most amazing first holiday. We were so impressed with every aspect: the cottage was immaculate with fabulous facilities down to every last touch. Even the fire was ready to light! The setting was superb and we enjoyed the short walk around Glassonby. The maps and instructions were so detailed too. We didn’t feel the need to go out for meals as the kitchen was so well equipped and Tesco had no problem finding us! We can not fault the holiday- so thank you.

31/10/2018Email

‘We had an amazing week, with unexpectantly warm weather. Everything (meals and probably quite a lot of the crockery and cutlery!) shared with the rest of the family next door in the Hall. Also had excellent meals at The Crown, Kirkoswald and The Shepherds Inn, Melmerby (and you have to see the view from Hartside summit, 3.5 miles up the hill from there – breathtaking views of the Lakes!) Lacy’s Caves and generally walking along the idyllic Eden are highly recommended. The house is lovely and very well equipped (apart from a sieve) – as the weather was so great, we would have appreciated some way of leaving the outer doors back, they tend to blow shut. Otherwise we were very happy and comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful week.'

Susie Candlin, Ben and Sam Buckton01/09/2018Guest book

‘This was our second experience of a Rowley Estates property. Not disappointed! Stories and photos of renovation are amazing. Standards of the properties are excellent. The attention to detail is superb. A lovely relaxing week and already trying to decide which property to try next. Many thanks to the excellent housekeeping team in prepping the cottage.’

Carole and Lawrence and Diesel the Husky24/09/2018Guest book

‘A lovely break in a lovely place! Talk about chilling out… Listen to that sound of nothing! Enjoy! Thank you for delivering what you said on the packet…110%’

Guy Liebenburg17/09/2018Guest book

Fantastic cottage exactly as advertised, welcome back was superb, while holiday fabulous will definitely return, Many Thanks

14/04/2016Rural Retreats

Wonderful cottage in a very peaceful location with great views. Warm and welcoming, dog friendly. One of the best ever!

09/05/2017Rural Retreats

Stunning property. Well-equipped, clean and tidy - immaculate throughout. Outside space delightful with well maintained garden.

25/10/2017Rural Retreats

Lovely accommodation, beautiful views and very peaceful, Would highly recommend

11/07/2018Rural Retreats

We had another great weekend, staying at Jenny's Croft. We stayed in Jenny's Croft a few years ago, but the interior fit out did not look like it had aged, everything was still in pristine condition and well looked after. The external areas around the property have really matured and it really is a peaceful setting. I would recommend to anyone to visit. Thanks to the Rowley Estates.

Tom H, London, UK06/06/2018Tripadvisor

Staying at the Rowley Estates is always a pleasure. Jenny’s Croft is particularly wonderful as it has such a unique layout downstairs with the dual aspect log burner and is set in such tranquil surroundings in the unspoilt village of Glassonby. Stepping out the front door and catching sight of the stunning view with the rolling countryside to breathe in is just superb. We used the helpful walking guides provided to wonder up to Long Meg and her Daughters Stone Circle via the quaint local Addingham Church where the Rowley name is present. And a drive out over the Kirkstone Pass is always a favourite, this time taking us to Ambleside by way of Pooley Bridge. Incredibly dramatic scenery on such a crisp blue winter’s day. From enquiry through to our stay the process is swift and convenient. Christine and Jilly are so considerate making sure you have everything you need to make your stay perfect. I can’t recommend any of their properties highly enough. Give it a try - you’ll not regret it.

wainen31/01/2018Tripadvisor

Jenny's Croft is a great cottage that is dog friendly with lovely gardens. The housekeeping team are very helpful.

londoncalling91, London, UK03/01/2018Tripadvisor

We love holidays in the Lake District and Eden Valley. Rowley Estates offer a very high standard of accommodation in great rural locations. We've stayed in several of their properties in recent years and need look no further for what we want. Very well maintained, high spec with attentive owners. Also great is flexibility over booking dates rather than the standard seven or fourteen day holiday.

alisono123676, Oxford, UK01/04/2018Tripadvisor

A wonderful cosy cottage with fantastic facilities, a large well-stocked kitchen, big open-space lounge with wood burning stove and two ensuite bedrooms. There is a patio outside with terraced garden. Very friendly owners with lots of tips on where to go and the best pubs and restaurants of which there are many. This is our second, slightly longer visit and we will definitely be back.

14/03/2018Tripadvisor

This was our second visit to Jenny's Croft and will be visiting again very soon. We would highly recommend the cottage which is decorated to a high standard and fully equipped. The owner and housekeeping staff are excellent in communicating and assisting with your stay. The cottage is situated in a lovely location within driving distance to some nice days out, restaurants and shopping.

NWRessel, Manchester20/03/2018Tripadvisor