Any1234567891011121314
Any123456 or More
All Accessible Corporate Families Large Groups Pet Friendly Romance Walk to Pub Weddings
See all

Testimonials for Melmerby Hall

Great accommodation, great facilities, great location. Very well equipped and very spacious. Plenty of room to swallow up a big group. Friendly and helpful owners too.

Les11/10/2022Google

We stayed here for the second time with a group of friends and everything was perfect. The hall was spotless, warm and had everything we needed including a very generous welcome pack. We had a meal delivery from the local bakery one night and ate at The Shepherds Rest on another night. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Kerry11/10/2022Google

Just spent six nights at Melmerby Hall with extended family celebrating an eightieth birthday. The hall and surroundings are magnificent. It easily accommodated 16 of us in very comfortable and excellently maintained accommodation. Our ages ranged from 8 to 80 years and we could all find plenty to do including play snooker, enjoy dining provided by a local caterer and there was always space for whatever we wanted to do. Would highly recommend for location, quality of accommodation and support provided by owners as regards places to visit etc.

Gordon01/11/2022Google

Fabulous place to make memories. Nice village with lovely people and a great pub with superb food. Everyone in our party of 16 felt relaxed and at home and left with batteries fully recharged. Thank you once again

Jeremy19/09/2022Airbnb

A great location for a large family holiday. Lots of local things to do, walks, the Lakes and the beautiful Eden Valley, plus a great large garden, ideal for children's games and 'exploring'.

Nick31/07/2022Google

We have recently returned from an excellent week at Melmerby Hall. We went for a family celebration and found Melmerby to be a great place to stay. The hall and grounds are amazing and we would have no hesitation in booking Melmerby again.

John31/07/2022Google

Fabulous, spacious property in a beautiful location and wonderfully well equipped

Kay21/09/2022Google

Wonderful, extremely spacious accommodation, facilities and location. Perfect for a large gathering of any sort. I would definitely recommend and would love to go again.

Kay13/09/2022Airbnb

…..Melmerby Hall absolutely ‘ticks all the boxes’ when it comes to accomodating a large family get together. We have just had a very agreeable 4-day gathering of the Clan (16no. adults and children) and have already booked for the same time in 2023.

What’s so good about it?

1.Terrific space: 3 sitting rooms with obvious advantages when fractious moments occur, marvellous spacious Aga kitchen and pantries adjoining the two winter/summer dining areas, in turn leading to French doors accessing the outside pre dinner drinks area and the large garden and vast lawn areas, where several games of cricket/football were played. Good sized and charming ensuite bedrooms with the option of twin beds in some. The full-sized snooker table for wet afternoons.

2. Location:. Melmerby is perfectly positioned for accessing both the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales.

3. Local pub and the Village bakery for excellent last morning breakfasts.

4. Value for money: If you can find such spotlessly clean accommodation in Dorset, Devon or Cornwall, it will be at twice the cost, at least; and if you don’t know the Lakes you should ! but not in August, coz that’s when we go !.....

Richard25/08/2022email

We spent 4 days at Melmerby Hall in July 2022 to celebrate our Golden Wedding anniversary with our family.
We were a party of 17 and the hall was an ideal location. It is truly palatial with so much space both indoors and in the beautiful grounds.
Although it is steeped in history it has all the advantages of modern facilities. The bedrooms are all en-suite and beautifully furnished.
Everything is provided to make the stay comfortable from the luxurious welcome hamper to the fully equipped kitchen (complete with Aga) and two barbecues.
The grounds are extensive and there are masses of room for children to play safely.
We used Lynn Hilditch to provide us with a wonderful fully catered and served dinner on one evening. The nearby village has a lovely bakery and super pub.
I cannot praise this property highly enough and fully recommend it for a short break or longer in any season.
Many thanks to Christine for making the celebration so memorable.

Len22/07/2022Google

Such a beautiful setting, In the cutest of villages, perfect for a wedding or just a base to stay whilst exploring the local area

Mel20/06/2022Google

We celebrated our Diamond Wedding at Melmerby Hall and Stag Cottage with our large family group. The accommodation was luxurious and the quality and space made it perfect for our differing interests, and the equipment available was comprehensive and in good order. The large garden was well tended, leading to a woodland walk.

Edward22/06/2022Google

A really good weekend spent at Melmerby Hall. It had everything we needed and more and we'll certainly be visiting again. The food from the Bakery and meal at the Shepherds Inn were both excellent.

Mick31/07/2021Google

My family and friends have stayed at Melmerby many times over the years. It is an amazing Hall whether for a big occasion or a family gathering. The quality of the furnishings and amenities are top notch,! we will definitely be back

Lea31/05/2021Google

What an amazing place to celebrate a ruby wedding anniversary and a 70th birthday. Melmerby Hall offered everything for an extended family party which included children and adults. The bedrooms were very comfortable and what luxury to have a bathroom each! The public rooms were well appointed and each had its own character. The kitchen was well-equipped and there was plenty of space for two dogs to roam to their heart’s content. The hall was spotless and the extensive grounds provided endless opportunities for fun and adventure! The Hall is ideally suited for visiting the Lakes, the Dales or the Northern Pennines. It’s much easier to travel around here and it’s much better than getting trapped on the busy Lake District Park roads. Rowley Estates is a highly professional but friendly set up. Christine provides plenty of information for activities in the area and interesting places to visit. Queries are always responded to promptly. This is our third stay at a Rowley property and we will be back.

Sue 31/07/2021Google

Melmerby Hall formed the truly magnificent venue to our recent celebrations of some very special family occasions. It could hardly be called a background as the beautiful Hall was central to the great enjoyment of our very special family celebration. Even in the very difficult time of the Coronavirus restrictions Melmerby Hall was beautifully and safely prepared. Every detail for our comfort and safety had been considered. The Hall and private grounds were immaculate and the walk through the woods to the lovely Melmerby Village was a pleasure. This is the second time we have stayed in one of the Rowley Estate lovely properties and enjoyed easy access to the many special attractions of the Lake District and we hope there will.be many more visits.

Jean31/07/2021Google

A wonderful and welcoming property surrounded by nature and beautiful walks.

Gabriella10/09/2021Google

There were 17 members of our family who needed a special venue for a very special get together. Melmerby Hall exceeded all expectations and I cannot recommend highly enough. Both the grounds and house are spectacular and the welcome pack was very welcome indeed. We would love to go back to Melmerby again next year if all is well.

Marie 30/09/2021Google

Fantastic place. Stayed up here for a work away day and the house is amazing. Really enjoyed the surrounding area and the catering service was delicious.

Oliver21/10/2021

A great venue for a reunion with University friends and partners. All rooms en suite. Lovely kitchen and informal dining area, but also a formal dining room for a special meal. (We had a caterer in for that.) A variety of living rooms downstairs- even a snooker table on the top floor. Nice bakery and pub in the village

Martin21/10/2021Google

Beautiful old building, maintained to a high standard with excellent facilities for a large group. Very large grounds and gardens to explore and in the heart of a small village with an excellent bakery/cafe and a pub.

Alan31/10/2021Google

We stayed at Melmerby Hall for our Company team weekend in September. The house is beautiful and located in an idyllic spot in Cumbria. We stayed for 4 nights and still didn't get to use all of the rooms! Would highly recommend. Gill & the whole team at There Be Giants.

Gill 29/10/2021Google

Sheldrake-Myers

 27 weeks ago

Our Wedding at Melmerby We had the most amazing wedding stay at Melmerby Hall and literally couldn't rate it more highly. From my first contact with Cristine it has been the most wonderful experience. Joanna was our wedding organiser and talked us through every step required and recommended the most brilliant suppliers who we referred to as the A Team. We stayed four nights at the Hall getting married on day three. The Hall is stunning, full of character, charm and elegance whilst also feeling so homely, the grounds are amazing and are a fantastic backdrop for a wedding. We hired the Hall and Stag Cottage and they were so well equipped - brought a whole new concept to self catering. The wedding was magical and I want to say a massive thank you to lynn Hilditch who did our stunning wedding breakfast as well as drop off food and stone baked pizzas during our stay, Alison from Yewbarrow Flower farm who grew and created the most wonderful wedding flowers and Debbie Walker who did our hair and make-up, I honestly have never felt more special. Breakfast from the Old Village bakery. Thank you all for creating the most special day for Mark and I. We will be back xxx

Jilly30/09/2021Google

A magnificent place for our family weekend away! The hall, grounds and surrounding area are beautiful and attention to detail is second to none. Loads of room for everyone (although finding our way round was challenging 😂) and the luxurious bedding made a brilliant night's sleep. The cupboards and drawers are crammed with everything you could possibly need and The Billiard room a triumph! We had the most fantastic stay at Melmerby Hall and will recommend to anyone 👌

Shelley10/03/2022Google

Fabulous stay at Melmerby Hall - house and grounds lovely - just right for our big family celebration. Thank you to everyone at Rowley Estates.

Chris17/03/2022Google

Excellent location for a family get together in an old wonderful building which has been updated to the highest standards. Allowed us to have a brilliant weekend away and everyone could do their own thing or have fantastic evenings together

Ian30/04/2022Google

Just got back from a great weekend at Melmerby Hall and Stag Cottage, this is the second time we have stayed at a Rowley Estates property and I can't recommend them highly enough. We were originally due to go in October 2020 but had to rearrange due to the mess that is Covid, Rowley Estates were great to deal with and made rearranging a doddle. The property is huge inside and very well equipped, there's even a snooker table for those that feel the need to show how good the professionals really are. There is plenty of room outside and plenty of seating is provided as well as a couple of BBQs and a fire pit. There is plenty of space in the grounds as well to stretch your legs and work off a few of the calories you're bound to have indulged in. The village of Melmerby is a delight, the Shepherds Inn in the village is superb for any meals you want and the owner is very helpful in getting larger parties sorted, with a bit of pre organisation our party of 17 were fed and watered with very few issues, he even opened especially for us on the Friday afternoon. The staff there were friendly and sorted us out easily. The village bakery is great for those wanting a naughty snack and also does breakfasts, they fit 17 of us in before we left on the Monday morning and it was good stuff, no skinny bacon or a manky sausage in sight, all good. We got a delivery from Tesco and Sainsbury on the Friday of snacks and beer, it saved anyone having to travel to Penrith for supplies. Another great property from Rowley Estates...well done...PS...also check out Blencowe Hall owned by the same people, a little more isolated but a truly stunning property, we've been lucky enough to stay there as well

Steven 12/05/2022Google

18 of us stayed at Melmerby Hall for my husband's 60th birthday in Apri 2022 for 3 nights. The Hall is immaculate in every way, beautiful bedrooms all individually decorated and all ensuite. The downstairs rooms are all beautifully decorated and provided ample space for us all to mix together and there is a games/snooker room on the 2nd floor which proved very popular. The grounds and walks from the door are amazing. The welcome pack was well received and consisted of local and English treats including wine and the Rowley Estate's own raspberry jam, delicious! The Hall was warm and immaculately clean on our arrival with the formal dining room set out ready for use. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would not hesitate to recommend The Rowley Estate, especially Melmerby Hall to anyone, we will be back as they have so many lovely properties to rent including shepherd's huts which I am already considering for our 35th anniversary in August. Lastly most of the properties are dog friendly an added bonus as three dogs were able to come with us for what was a very memorable, special weekend. Made all the more special by the attention to every detail from initial booking to the completing of our weekend by all the staff at The Rowley Estate's. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Ruth24/05/2022Google

From the moment we drove through the archway, we were in another blissful world with our nearest and dearest, to celebrate our marriage at the stunning Melmerby Hall. Christine and Joanna answered all our questions quickly and insightfully right from our first contact with them; recommending the very best suppliers for our needs and supporting us right through to the ceremony. Details like the thoughtful welcome pack were lovely, it really helped to know we didn’t need to buy milk, butter, eggs etc. and the homemade Rowley Estates raspberry jam was delightful! All the bedrooms are individually designed and have en-suite bathrooms – it was a pleasure to show all our guests to their rooms, they felt very spoiled as did we in the stunning master suite – the bathroom was especially impressive. The billiards room went down very well but I’m glad to say the weather was kind to us so the outdoor seating & firepit were a big bonus for us. We’d like to give special praise to Lynn Hilditch; an accomplished chef who uses local ingredients some of which she’s grown herself, Lynn is insightful and knew what we wanted before we did! We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect wedding breakfast, the beef wellington was the star of the show and resulted in complete silence whilst we appreciated every mouthful – it was truly delicious & cooked to perfection. She returned the following night with her pizza oven which she set up alongside our cricket match on the lawn. Delicious pizza in the stunning grounds rounded off our stay perfectly. Our photographer Peter Ostrowski put us all at ease from the moment he arrived. He got the best out of even the most camera shy amongst us. He even gave us a gift and sent a beautiful video of our day within hours of leaving us. Debbie Walker of DLW Hair & Beauty set up camp in the Orangery at 9am on the morning of our wedding and worked her magic. She understood exactly what I wanted and effortlessly transformed me whilst the hustle and bustle of the busy day carried on around us. Alison from Yewbarrow Flower Farm delivered the prettiest, most natural bouquet and displays for us – all grown by her and freshly picked and arranged that morning. We enjoyed breakfast barms which were delivered to the Hall by The Village Bakery. Delicious & best quality bacon, eggs, sausages and twice the size we were expecting. So now we’re home & it feels like a dream; we’re all trying to keep it alive by sharing photos and videos and remembering all the little details. What a wonderful time we all had, thank you to everyone involved.

Jackie24/05/2022Google

We were an extended family of 17 enjoying a long weekend for my belated 50th birthday, ageing from 16 - 78. We all loved Melmerby Hall, there is nothing that hasn't been thought of. Every kitchen drawer, cupboard etc is crammed with everything you will ever need. There are books and games and a television for entertainment, the boys particularly enjoyed the billiards room.  If you need a quiet moment there are several options of rooms to sit and read. The rooms are furnished beautifully and well equipped, the bed linen was really luxurious. The grounds are beautiful as is the village, The Shepherds Inn was magnificent and service, food and even the locals were excellent, very welcoming and friendly!

Shelley28/02/2022Email

Thank you so much for a lovely stay at Melmerby Hall, it really is an amazing house. We had such a fantastic weekend!

21/03/2022email

We've had the most amazing stay at Melmerby Hall, it's  truly magnificent.

S14/02/2022Email

Our stay at Melmerby Hall was utterly magnificent. This was a view shared by our entire party of 15. For a Xmas stay, it was really something special. The way you set up the property for our stay was faultless! We literally couldn’t find any fault. A perfect Xmas stay. Thank you from all of us.
The Hall was beautifully equipped, seasonally decorated, and utterly comfortable throughout. It is a challenge to cook a Xmas banquet in an unfamiliar kitchen but it was so well equipped that a feast was served.

Brianemail

We just wanted to say, a huge thank you to you and everyone involved in preparing Melmerby Hall and Stag Cottage for our stay. The effort and thought put in to making it a fantastic experience is thoroughly appreciated. We had the best time creating memories that will be with us forever. My Mum couldn't of enjoyed her 70th more. Thank you so much.

Pam07/06/2021email

We have recently just returned from a weekend at Melmerby Hall and Stag Cottage for my Mum's 80th Birthday. There were 22 of us in total occupying both properties and I can honestly say it was one of the best weekends we have all ever had. Both houses flow brilliantly and cater for everyone's needs.They have thought of everything needed from the welcome hamper to freezers full of ice. With enough space for everyone yet still giving an intimate feeling. We played cricket on the lawn, did one of the recommended walks and were waited on hand and foot by Lynn Hilditch catering on the Saturday evening. We didn't even know they were there as they are so efficient and they served what was probably one of the best three course meals we have all ever eaten. Lynn was amazing to deal with from start to finish and nothing was too much trouble for her. We all felt well and truly spoilt and not much tidying up to be done on the Sunday morning. The kitchen is well stocked and we managed to do a Full English breakfast for all 22 of us, the Aga making cooking very easy indeed. WHen can we come back is the unanimous cry from the family, as we definitely will be.

Clare S15/09/2020Tripadvisor

Recently visited with a group of 11. Place is top notch. No short cuts in quality of supplies by the owners.

asit2013201329/08/2020Tripadvisor

We booked Melmerby for a small family wedding and it was the most amazing experience. The location is perfect. The hall is beautiful and was the perfect backdrop for our wedding photos. On the morning of our wedding we walked though the gardens and the private gated archway to the local church and returned for champagne on the lawn moments later. The beautiful interior, with huge family kitchen and sumptuous bathrooms, all blended perfectly with original period features. The welcome hamper of local produce was delightful. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners before we arrived and they are clearly attentive to every last detail as everything was perfect for our stay. Joanna was especially helpful while were organising our stay. All our meals were catered by Lynn Hilditch and her food was absolutely delicious and delighted our guests. Lynn's portions were so generous we had more leftovers than we could possibly eat up before it was time to leave. And we really did not want to leave at all, next time we will definitely be back for a longer stay!

sophiebS4292LU08/08/2020Tripadvisor

Words and pictures really can’t do justice to this amazing place! We booked Melmerby Hall, along with Stag Cottage and Kirkbride Hall, for our daughter’s wedding and it really was the most magical weekend. Absolutely everything has been thought of and, although it’s a beautiful grand building, the furnishings and decor make it feel so homely and welcoming. We made use of all the downstairs rooms as it lends itself so well to hosting a wedding - the ceremony in the drawing room, drinks and canapes in the lounge and kitchen, wedding breakfast in the dining room and the library set aside as a ‘chill out’ zone for those needing some quiet time once the dancing started! The billiard room was well used and the grounds were perfect for both photographs and dog walking. The level of service and attention to detail from both Christine and Joanna was faultless from the moment of booking. And a minor blip with the heating on our first day was sorted quickly, unobtrusively and without any fuss in just a couple of hours. They’re quick to reply, so enthusiastic and you really feel that nothing is too much trouble for them to make sure you have the best possible stay. We used Angie at the Village Bakery for the food and she was backwards and forwards bringing breads, pastries, evening meals and the wedding breakfast throughout our stay - all delicious and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. We also had a lovely private sit down meal at the Shepherd’s Inn on the Sunday which is just a 5 minute stroll from the Hall. Both Angie and Mike were a pleasure to work with, helping us design menus and providing food that everybody loved. Our daughter and her new hubby said that they really did have the wedding of their dreams at Melmerby Hall - small, intimate and quality time spent with the people that really mattered to them. We had three wonderful days full of love, laughter and tears of joy and none of us wanted to leave. We really can’t recommend this place highly enough and I’m already trying to think of a reason to go back and do it all again... 60th birthday celebrations, anyone?!

hampsters196305/03/2020Tripadvisor

We stayed in Melmerby Hall for a 60th Birthday party with the whole family and friends. It had everything. Spacious, well equiped and all the creaks and quirks you expect of a period property. Gorgeous

U8374OYstevem18/01/2020Tripadvisor

This was our second stay at a Rowley Estate venue and certainly will not be our last. Melmerby Hall lived up to our expectations, I thought it would be difficult to outshine Blencow Hall, but it was just as amazing. All we needed was a butler to complete the Downton Abbey scene. It is difficult to find somewhere that 18 adults are all completely happy with but Melmerby Hall did that in spades. The thought that has gone into making it a memorable occasion is second to none. The welcome pack is amazing with local jam, homemade toffee/fudge, speciality tea, local bakery bread. There were even eggs, butter, oil, milk, fruit juice, tea bags, coffee and sugar along with various herbs and spices. This along with a host of non-food items such as cling film, tin foil, washing up liquid, dish washer tablets etc etc meant that even if you had forgotten to bring something with you it was more than likely already there. The 9 bedrooms did not disappoint either they were all very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable, each with its own en suite. Most had amazing views and although it was the end of November the frost added to the magical picturesqueness. I booked Lynn Hillditch for my celebration dinner on the Saturday evening and cannot praise her and her staff enough, the food and service was exceptional and when she left the kitchen was spotless. I could write so much more, but suggest you find out by booking, I can assure you you would not be disappointed. I will remember my celebration at Melmerby for a long time, so much so that all my guests are looking forward to making our visit to a Rowley Estate venue an annual event. Thank you Christine and the Team for a very special weekend.

sandrarS5679HG10/12/2019Tripadvisor

We have not yet stayed at Melmerby Hall but I needed to write a review on our experience of booking our wedding with Rowley Estates. After months of looking for the perfect wedding venue we found Melmerby Hall via Rowley Estates. We are having a small wedding and all the guests are staying for the weekend. The service has been exceptional, it has been completely stress free and enjoyable. Joanna is a dream, from answering questions to arranging for us to visit the Hall and spending time looking round and deciding who would love which bedroom, the pictures really do not do this amazing property justice. Joanna has provided details on caterers, flowers, photographers and even a hot tub provider, the response is always quick, friendly, professional and fully informative. On our visit she recommended the local cafe/ bakery, we visited before our journey home and the food was lovely, we are going to use them for fresh bread etc for our stay. We have booked Lynn Hilditch for the wedding breakfast and again nothing is to much trouble and we can design our own menu with different choices. Lynn even does a drop of service so you don't have to do any cooking if you don't want to! The church is very close, just a lovely short walk on pathway through the grounds, we have booked the little church but you can get married in the drawing room. If you are thinking about what to do differently for your wedding rather than spending all that money on just one day in a generic Hotel that only cares about taking your money then book a weekend property and extend your celebrations with the freedom to do what you want when you want. I can't recommend booking Melmerby Hall highly enough and although I have not seen the other properties from the service we have received I would recommend to book through Rowley Estates. We are having the wedding of our dreams (in budget I might add) and its been totally stress free, roll on March 2020 :-)

sharbut7003/10/2019Tripadvisor

Your every whim is catered for at this gorgeous property. We were a group of 16 with 3 dogs, clearly the owners have been doing this a long time and know their stuff. The property was immaculate on arrival with a well stocked welcoming hamper to start you off. This a a very well organised set up for larger groups. We tended to use the main lounge, conservatory and kitchen area for socialising. There were a number of other beautiful rooms with a formal dining area (great should you bring in outside catering) which we did not use but ideal if anybody wants to escape for some quiet time. Towels and toiletries are provided and all the bedrooms are to a good standard. The grounds of the property are amazing, some great family games of cricket on the Archery lawns and there is a lovely dog walk in the grounds via a wooded area and adjacent to the beck which takes about an hour or so depending on pace. We were going to hire a hot tub but stupidly left it until a month before to book (none available) so ensure you book one well in advance should you be considering one. Had some lovely afternoons sat in the outside seating are between the hall and the lawns. Their is ample fridge space (2 large) , 2 dishwashers, An Aga which we made use of and is surprisingly easy to use and a conventional cooker and hob. Nearby within 500 yards is a local store, bakery with dining area and adjacent shop, Shepherds Inn pub which we highly recommend, had lovely meal for 16. The only fault is that we didn't book to stay for a full week. Worth a look if you are considering a wedding venue, church next door to property and can be accessed directly from the hall and there is a local village hall within 200 yards which can be hired out. This property sleeps up to 18 and there is a property to the rear Stags cottage which I believe sleeps 8. Hall would be great for murder/mystery weekend. Fantastic property, full of character. Many thanks to Christine and Charles, particularly Christine who always replied to emails promptly re queries from guests prior to attending. Perfect weekend with family in perfect surroundings.

Traveler83166201/08/2019Tripadvisor

Melmerby Hall provided the perfect location for our family celebration. From start to finish of our week-end stay, our expectations were consistently exceeded. Beautiful rooms and grounds meant that everyone in our party (ranging in age from 7 to 81) had a superb time. Lots of open space to enjoy outdoor games and only a 40 minute drive on the Saturday to spend an afternoon on Ullswater Lake. We were made to feel most welcome at Melmerby and the Hall is somewhere we all agreed we would hope to return to one day. A truly exceptional property that we feel very lucky to have found.

B05/07/2019Tripadvisor

We can't speak highly enough regarding the Rowley Estate Properties - we rented Melmerby Hall, Kirkbride hall and Stag Cottage for a family wedding. The rooms are beautifully historic with the addition of modern bathrooms. The property was equipped with everything we needed to host a brilliant house party with no skimping on consumables such as dishwasher and laundry detergents - often absent in other properties we have rented. The local Church accessed through the gardens of Melmerby Hall and the addition of the highly affordable, modern village hall almost opposite the Hall made for the perfect wedding venue.

Helen20/06/2019Tripadvisor

This magnificent Country House, cottage, gardens and estate was a perfect venue for 24 of our friends to jointly celebrate 40th birthdays in May 2019. The house is perfectly located, near Penrith and close to the Lakes District, Durham Dales and easily reached via the A66 or M6. We rented the main hall, sleeps 18 and Stag Cottage, sleeps 6, and it was superb in every way. The main hall is a blend of historic home with all of its original charm and character and modern, well appointed rooms (especially the luxurious en-suite bathrooms) and the awesome kitchen. The owners think of everything that a large group needs, including huge American Fridge Freezers packed with bags of party ice and a classy welcome hamper, milk, bread, tea, coffee and local goodies. We hired in the Rowley Estates' recommended caterer, Lynn Hilditch catering, using the dinner drop off service on the Friday and Lynn and her team for a waited banquet in the main dining room/ Great Hall on the Saturday. Lynn delivered a stunning 3-course meal, including 30-day aged sirloin steaks and slow roasted lamb shanks. The food and service was magnificent and Lynn and team cleared up absolutely everything by the time we had finished our desserts. Perfect. The weather was great and we enjoyed drinks on the archery lawn and gardens in warm sunshine on the first night. There is a lot to do locally, including a number of fell walks and a lovely (if slightly pricey village bakery and cafe) plus a nice local pub which seemed to only open in the evenings. Melmerby Hall is a magical place where a large group can live like lords and ladies, recreate memories and enjoy a level of sophistication and splendour that is hard to recreate in modern venues and settings. Our group had a brilliant weekend and plans are afoot to make it an annual or bi-annual weekend in the Lakes. We booked through Kate and Tom's but once set, we received outstanding communication and customers service from owner Christine Rowley. We received useful e-mail marketing with helpful local events, ideas and suggestions which helped us to get the most from our stay. I can't think of a single negative about our stay - my only advice would be to take care driving into the hall and estate - the arched entrance is a snug fit for bigger cars. On the whole, Melmerby Hall is magical and a perfect venue for group celebrations and weekend escapes. 5-Stars

Matthew M05/06/2019Tripadvisor

What a wonderful birthday weekend we have just spent at Melmerby - the Hall is amazing, the setting sublime, and we really appreciated how cosy and warm we were in such a big house. The kitchen is so well appointed, the bathrooms spotless, and the reception rooms and bedrooms extremely comfortable. Thank you also for the lovely welcome basket in the kitchen, and being so dog-friendly. Saturday saw the whole family enjoying riding with the lovely instructors at Bank House Equestrian centre, and the day was topped off by a fabulous meal in the superb dining room, provided by Lynn Hillditch and her excellent team. The exciting games of hide and seek were endless! An unforgettable experience, in a delightful setting !

Curiosity51926910/05/2019Tripadvisor

Our family had a wonderful Easter weekend,the hall had a great relaxing atmosphere which together with the gardens (lawns) and aided by the superb weather gave our athletically minded family a great playarea. Badminton croquet,cricket,soccer,egg and spoon races and most of all for the oldies relaxing

Guide6737455521108/05/2019Tripadvisor

A beautiful house for a weekend away with family to celebrate a 60th Birthday. It was very clean and well appointed. The welcome pack was exceptionally good. The whole experience was wonderful we hope to stay again.

KC18/04/2019Tripadvisor

Wow. Wow. Wow! Absolutely fantastic place to stay! We have just visited Melmerby Hall & Stag Cottage for a long weekend to celebrate my 50th Birthday! The house is exceptional in every way - such a warm and welcoming place, extremely comfortable and perfect for our large party of adults and children. Also being pet friendly it was great to be able to take the dog with us as well. He loved the big grounds and we had easy access to the walks in the surrounding hills and fields. Would also like to give a plug for the local Shepherds Inn (not on Trip Advisor) but a great place to dine and only a few minutes walk from the Hall. Thank you very much for your hospitality it was enjoyed by all.

The H Family01/04/2019Tripadvisor

We've stayed here before and yet again our expectations were surpassed at our weekend house party. We used the recommended caterers - Lynn - who turned out to be perfect. We had a meal for fourteen dropped off to heat up, breakfast cooked for us and also a banquet dinner served up on the Saturday night. Melmerby Hall accommodation was perfect, an ideal blend of grandeur and homeliness. Thank you Christine, Charlie and Jilly for keeping up standards. We will be back!

John18/09/2017Tripadvisor

Melmerby Hall is incredible! We were a group of 10 adults and 8 children so having our own bathrooms in our beautiful bedrooms was brilliant and Jilly was very helpful by configuring the beds to suit our needs. The facilities in the house were fantastic. The kitchen was amazing with ample of everything you need to cater for large numbers and the welcome basket was very generous. We were blessed with incredible weather so we took full advantage of the stunning grounds, barbecue and outdoor furniture all weekend. When we were tired of sunbathing on the beautifully kept lawns the comfortable living spaces accommodated all of us in real luxury. Melmerby Hall provided the perfect place for our group of friends to be together and have the privacy of our own spacious rooms. Christine and Jilly were so helpful, making booking Melmerby very easy. I really cannot rate Melmerby Hall strongly enough and we can not wait to come back!

Sarah E31/07/2017Tripadvisor

The location of this property is amazing, beautiful gardens , great family friendly huge place for everyone to enjoy, its the ideal property to kick back and relax. Would highly recommend a visit for a long weekend break.

Diane H12/12/2018Tripadvisor

This was our second long weekend in this beautiful house, which we had in combination with Stag cottage and Kirkbride Hall. It is in a Peaceful, scenic location ideal for exploring the northern lakes but with easy transport links. The spacious and light conservatory just off a well equipped kitchen with a dining table for 20 meant the family could all be together while cooking and eating. If you prefer to eat in style, the impressive dining room is a magnificent room with a fireplace from the 1600’s. There are three further large sitting rooms, each with a distinctive style, one is very elegant with an open fire, the others less formal but still very comfortable. All the bedrooms are large and tastefully furnished with antique furniture, beautiful views and each with a lovely en suite bathroom with quality toiletries and white fluffy towels on the heated towel rails. In addition to the kitchen, there is a large utility room with large extra fridge and dishwasher and plenty of storage in cupboards and work surfaces and all the equipment you need to self cater to a high standard. However the atmosphere of a comfortable family home is maintained and it does not feel stuffy or precious . The artisan bakery cafe and gift shop three minutes walk away is an added bonus to the stay, and the welcome hamper is generous and full of Lake District treats and Rowley estate jams. There are many activities close by for the family to enjoy; we had a trip on the Lakeland steamer, Clay pigeon shooting, quad biking, cycling and a run up an adjacent fell. The support team was available immediately when needed to answer any questions or iron out minor problems and we are very grateful for all their care and hard work in looking after the houses of the Melmerby estate . We will certainly be back. It is far superior to all other locations we have had as a family and we can not recommend it highly enough.

Siobhan, Manchester08/11/2018Tripadvisor

Another great time at melmerby , everything about it is fabulous . A great sociable kitchen for large groups , we will definitely be back , thankyou .

Shelly21/11/2018Tripadvisor

A comfortable well-furnished house, excellently equipped kitchen, lots of dining space, all bedrooms en-suite. We had a large group of friends and it worked very well. 

 

Jon171728/06/2018Tripadvisor

What a gorgeous property! I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay in Melmerby Hall in the luxurious Chinese Room. The room and ensuite were well-styled and extremely comfortable, with all necessities already thought of and provided. I particularly love the provided books in case you find yourself wanting to read before bed. It is always a delight to meet the Rowley family and other staff in the property. They are all exceptionally welcoming and surpass your expectations and needs. It's such a pleasure to stay in such a stunning building and I hope to return! 

Gaby C02/06/2018Tripadvisor

Fabulous house with great bedrooms, beautiful grounds, friendly helpful housekeeper Jilly, who gave us lots of useful info. Loved the welcome hamper with lots of nice goodies, including wine, bread, butter, cheese, milk, nice coffee, biscuits etc. Nice walks from the house, lovely pub and cafe in the village. Really well equipped - we barbequed for 24 people with the 3 Weber BBQ's and charcoal provided. 

juleslove404/06/2018Tripadvisor

Wow, what a special, really wonderful place. The house is spacious, lots of room for roaming, all the rooms are immaculate yet homely, every detail attended to, everything exceptionally well maintained, and the kitchen has everything you might need for cooking, eating and drinking. The garden and grounds are also stunning. Although it's in the village, the grounds feel completely private and there's the woods for roaming - carpeted with bluebells when we were there which was the icing on a very large, delicious cake.

Harriet Beaumont24/05/2018Tripadvisor

A wonderful spot to gather the Parry family for Alun’s 70th. Enjoyed lovely walks, some time at the pub and the beautiful spaces of Melmerby Hall. Wonderful weekend! Brilliant place. Thank you.

The Parry family and friends23/03/2018Visitor's Book

A fantastic place to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary with all our family. We have enjoyed an amazing few days here. Thank you.  

The Rogers family and friends06/04/2018Visitor's Book

Words cannot express how much you all have made our wedding ideal! Both our family and friends travelled near and far (Canada, Florida, Australia, California & London). Thank you for providing everything we needed. This has been the best weekend ever!

The Skerratt Wedding, Richard and Kimberly19/04/2018Visitor's Book

Thanks for everything, what a wonderful place

Jen24/05/2018Visitor's Book

A beautiful weekend away celebrating Si’s 60th Birthday. Can't imagine anywhere better to have celebrated with family. Fantastic hamper, amazing attention to detail. Fantastic place! Fantastic weekend! 

Love and Kidner Family02/06/2018Visitor's Book

Celebrating the wedding of the Harringtons and it’s been simply…..amazing. 

Nina Ambrose14/07/2018Visitor's Book