1234567891011121314
123456 or More
All Accessible Corporate Families Large Groups Pet Friendly Romance Walk to Pub Weddings
See all

Testimonials for Blencowe Hall

Took me a while to write this review – apologies! But I just had to find the time to rate our stay over the middle of October! There were quite a few of us for a product launch and the property is beautiful. Everything is faultless and just stunning – and Christine is a pleasure to deal with and goes above and beyond, assisting in the set up. I cannot thank her and her staff enough – this event would not have been a success without it. Upon arrival we received perfect little gift hampers and everything was just spotless. I would recommend this place to anyone – we even have our clients asking how they can get to use the space again. All guests were in awe of how beautiful it all is. totally unique with a completely seamless service! Thank you again

Wanderer12/11/2018Tripadvisor

We booked Blencowe Hall and one of the cottages to celebrate a big birthday and it couldn’t have gone better. Christine is incredibly responsive and even with a couple of hiccups (heating wasn’t working) she responded immediately and had it fixed within the hour. The beds were very comfortable and the bed linen top notch; each and every one of our guests said how well they’d slept. Each room is individual and of course the South Tower Master is stunning! Most rooms have baths which the ladies loved. The kitchen is very well equipped and I soon got used to the Aga. With 30 people in the kitchen it certainly got cosy but we obviously had our guests from the cottage in for breakfast as well. I actually took kettles to put in each bedroom because some rooms, as you’d expect, are a long way from the kitchen. We had Lynn Hilditch Catering for all lunches and dinners and she was exceptional! The food was locally sourced and utterly delicious. Lynn went over and above to provide perfect meals and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend her. It was a squeeze to get 30 people in the dining room and we had to use one of the garden tables along with the two existing tables, but it did work, it was just a little difficult serving food. Obviously if you only had 24 people it’s fine, but with a bigger dining room I think the Hall would also appeal to those who wanted an event for bigger numbers. The sitting room is a fantastic size easily accommodating 30 people and with the fire lit, was beautifully cosy. We also had Salsa dancing in the room one night which was brilliant; the best activity we did all weekend. The Hall is completely different to any other venue and of course has the ‘Wow’ factor surrounded by outstanding beauty. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this property along with Christine and her team – fantastic!

Anne27/11/2018Tripadvisor

This is the second time I have stayed in this fabulous place and was so glad to return with my family to celebrate my 50th birthday and my sisters 20th Wedding Anniversary. The whole family loved every minute of our time here and also ordered a hot tub from Leigh at Cumbria Hot tub Hire which was such a treat. We received excellent service from Christine and her team, nothing was too much trouble and every query or question was responded too extremely quickly. The hall is fantastic, everything You could possibly need is available for you, as well as receiving a fabulous welcome hamper when we arrived. Can’t recommend this place enough and is perfect for a family gathering. We are already looking to see when we can return.

Rach93807/11/2018Tripadvisor

‘We have just celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary at Blencowe Hall with 3 generations of our family present. It was a truly amazing and memorable weekend. The children had a wonderful time playing outside in the grounds and also inside at ” Hide and Seek “. The hall is very well equipped if you choose to do all of your own catering. Lynn Hilditch cooked dinner for us for two nights and 3 breakfasts and we were delighted with her cooking. She was very obliging, efficient and accommodating. Our daughter’s dog adored her! Most of us went to Brockhole, near Windermere, on Sunday and adults and children alike had great fun at Treetop Nets and on the Tree Top Mini Trek. Our family all loved Blencowe Hall and the children didn’t want to go home. For us, special memories are to be treasured and our stay at Blencowe Hall will be with us for ever.’

25/10/2018Tripadvisor

We were a family party, 3 generations, celebrating my 90th birthday. Blencowe Hall must be unique; what had been a derelict fortified pele tower has come to life again without loss of character, and furnishings and fittings are all sympathetic to the building and fully meet the exacting 5* standard. We did a mixture of self-catering – the big kitchen is admirably equipped – and indulged in Lynn Hilditch’s delicious food for two important meals. Any celebration in my family has to involve a mountain ascent: Saddleback and High Pike are close at hand, and the less energetic enjoyed lower hills and ancient woodland at Howtown on Ullswater. We had fine weather, but there is indeed plenty to do, rain or shine. We had the great advantage that I had been able to visit some months ago to work out how we would fit in, and ensure that I was physically able to get round the Hall, which has lots of internal and sometimes uneven steps. Disabled visitors would need assistants, especially as the main sitting room is on the 1st floor, and some stairs have no handrail. I would love to think we might come again.

Elizabeth K30/09/2018Tripadvisor

My daughter’s wedding took place on Saturday 8th October, and we hired Blencowe Hall from Friday through to Monday so we could enjoy a full weekend with family and friends.  We had an intimate gathering of just 19 people, including the bride and groom, and the weekend was planned to be fun but also relaxing.  The Hall was absolutely perfect for the occasion !!!
There were enough different rooms for us to set up Virtual Reality games in one, the computer game Rock Band in another, the billiards room was well used, and anyone that wanted to chill out and chat could use the Solar.  The kitchen is so warm and comfortable there were always people chatting in there.  The bedrooms were amazing, particularly the master suite in the South Tower where my daughters and I got ready on the morning of the wedding – we got some stunning photographs.
The attention to detail by the owners/managers of the hall is outstanding.  The antique furniture adds to the historic feel of the Hall but every bathroom is modern and fully equipped.  There was nothing we needed – everything was provided for us.  We contacted Christine about a few blown lightbulbs and she was there straight away, changing every dead lightbulb in every room !!!
We had a fabulous weekend at Blencowe Hall – the only bad thing about it was having to leave !!!!!

Margaret18/10/2018Email

We held our wedding at Blencowe Hall on 1 September 18 and it was the most magical weekend we could have ever wished for. We booked the Hall itself and one of the accompanying cottages to accommodate 30 guests for a long weekend. (including our family dog!) The hall is licensed for weddings and so we were able to get married within Blencowe. I can’t thank everyone enough for all they did to make our stay a pleasant one. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A wonderful welcome hamper through to a preference of bedding for our guests, and not to mention the wonderful Heather who came to the Hall for the wedding to look after the registrars on the big day and organise where i needed to be! The hall is steeped in history and our guests were fascinated by the documents within the hall detailing all the renovations that had taken place. It has the most amazing atmosphere and we had so much fun exploring. It is well equipped, with a huge kitchen area, lots of facilities and space for storage. Every one of us had a fabulous weekend, we’ve made so many memories that will last a lifetime and i even had a few tears when we had to leave. We will be back! I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this magical place and the amazing staff that support it.

Vicky G12/09/2018Tripadvisor

My daughter’s wedding took place on Saturday 6th October, and we hired Blencowe Hall from Friday through to Monday so we could enjoy a full weekend with family and friends. We had an intimate gathering of just 19 people, including the bride and groom, and the weekend was planned to be fun but also relaxing. The Hall was absolutely perfect for the occasion !!!

There were enough different rooms for us to set up Virtual Reality games in one, the computer game Rock Band in another, the billiards room was well used, and anyone that wanted to chill out and chat could use the Solar. The kitchen is so warm and comfortable there were always people chatting in there. The bedrooms were amazing, particularly the master suite in the South Tower where my daughters and I got ready on the morning of the wedding – we got some stunning photographs.

The attention to detail by the owners/managers of the hall is outstanding. The antique furniture adds to the historic feel of the Hall but every bathroom is modern and fully equipped. There was nothing we needed – everything was provided for us. We contacted Christine about a few blown lightbulbs and she was there straight away, changing every dead lightbulb in every room

We had a fabulous weekend at Blencowe Hall – the only bad thing about it was having to leave !!!!!

Margaret Connolly06/10/2018email

The property itself is utterly beautifull, in a great location and easily accessible (for us anyway!) for a weekend break There is literally NOTHING that the owners haven’t thought of to make your stay (& even your dogs, assuming you take one) run smoothly. I would happily give more stars. Return visit already planned

AlisonMi231/08/2018Tripadvisor

From the moment we contacted Rowley Estates to make our booking they went above and beyond to ensure our stay was amazing. The second you arrive at Blencowe Hall it really is a dream come true, the entire family were literally blown away by the magical presence of the castle. The rooms are just beautiful and the views stunning. Celebrating my birthday is something the whole family will always remember and we have the most special memories of 3 generations at Blencowe. We thank the team and highly recommend the Hall for any event or stay.

SerDubaiTripadvisor